Mediterranean Breakfast Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I'm not sure how to rate this. I had been looking for a sweet recipe with quinoa, not the usual salty side dishes. This tasted a lot like an oatmeal dish. It was good, but I think I prefer oatmeal to quinoa (at least in this instance). Apricots were too expensive so I used raisins and blueberries instead. The only thing I would change would be to add more cinnamon and honey (or sugar) because those flavors were a little too understated for me. Again, the lower rating comes more from the fact that I did not care for the texture of quinoa in a "breakfast cereal."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Amazing dish. Very healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I tried this yesterday and fell in love with it. It is easy, healthy and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is absolutely delish!!! A definite keeper. My fam is accustomed to grains, so I cut the honey in 1/2 & it was plenty sweet for our tastes. What a healthy, delightful way to eat the most important meal of the day. I would give this 10 stars if I could. The nutty, but sweet flavor is great! Thanx, Yasi! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
excellent-excellent-excellent With or without the dates and apricots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I am new to the gluten-free world (only a few days!), and thought I would try this to replace my beloved oatmeal. Well, score one for the team! I did not have dates or apricots, so I substituted golden raisins. I will say that I found the recipe too salty, so next time I make it I will reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp. Other than the salt, I found this to be delicious, with a comforting texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amoshatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made a few changes and loved it even more. Instead of vanilla I added Brown Sugar and some mixed nuts. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Craisins were a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I used half apple juice/half milk...worked out great! Next time I may put chopped apples in, a great autumn change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonwaterBarb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middleport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was SOOO delicious. I used sweetened coconut milk instead of cow milk and honey. Didn't have apricots so used dates and raisins. The results were fabulous! Nice to find a dish that doesn't need wheat, gluten or dairy to be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States