Mediterranean Breakfast Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Eh, this was all right -- other people may like it more, but I wasn't sold by the consistency or taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraB
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I heated the Quinoa and cinnamon too long and the cinnamon had too much of a taste to it. Next time I will use half of the cinnamon. Otherwise this would have been very good! Looking for ways to add whole grain to our regime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I wanted to love this, but I should've paid closer attention to the reviews. Seems like the two main complaints (too much salt and the fact that it boils over easily) were also my main issues with the recipe. I used 1/2 tsp sea salt, when using just a pinch would've sufficed. As a quinoa newbie, I forgot to rinse it, so I'll definitely do going forward. I didn't have dates (which I adore and would've improved the flavor), so I subbed out some pomegranate craisins. I also used toasted walnuts in lieu of the almonds and added more cinnamon while it was simmering. I will definitely tweak this for next time and try again, as I'm trying to incorporate more quinoa into our family's diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
It is a little salty, but it's also AWESOME. I added some chopped fresh ginger and it's super duper yummy. I used golden raisins for the dried fruit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LROSM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Just wanted to address the "too much salt" comments; I used flaked sea salt, which is a lot more delicate than regualr table salt. So if you're using conventional salt, do lower the amount to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Be sure to use yellow quinoa. I used red quinoa (quinoa with the hull) and it took a lot more liquid and about a half hour more time to get a nicely cooked cereal. The fruit and spice amounts needed to be increased slightly as well but that can be done at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I LOVE salty things & was intrigued by salt/milk mixture. Unfortunately, it was too salty as written. Would suggest 1/2 amount of salt. Also a little bland, so I would add more honey or sugar next time. Perfect winter food b/c it was surprisingly filling! Couldn't eat more than 1 cup's worth and was full 'til 2pm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
WAAAY too salty for me Smelled really good though. I'm pretty sure this would be a 4-star recipe with less salt. Unfortunately, I ran out of apricots so I will have to wait to try it again. Just a note: quinoa should always be rinsed until the foam dissipates before use or it may taste bitter. I may also add golden raisins and a pinch of ground cardamom when I try it again, I'll have to taste it as written first, with less salt that is! UPDATE: Add a 3rd star without all that salt! But I think the quinoa would cook better in water and maybe stir in a little cream right before serving. The flavors are lovely, especially with a little bit of ground cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This recipe really made me love quinoa! The cinnamon so good when you're making it. Really cheap, easy, lowfat, and healthy. I used almond milk instead of cow milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The salt really overpowers this dish. The flavors would be perfect with half as much or no salt. I like the texture of the quinoa and I like the dates and apricots. I added cranberries as well, and I think dried cherries would be nice too. Be careful that the milk doesn't burn (I used soy) or boil over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States