Mediterranean Black Olive Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This recipe creates a delicious, dense loaf. However, through 2 kneadings the olives became mashed to pieces. Perhaps the recipe should be changed to add the olives just before the third rise, which would leave them in bigger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyMay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shane
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Amazing, I adjusted the oven temp to 450, then 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
It's not too much work, which makes the payoff even better! I used oil cured olives and it came out delicious!! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Excellent!! My husband and I both loved it and I will make this again and again. We had been buying this expensive olive bread at the supermarket but no more, this is much better. The only thing I changed was baking temp. I baked at 350 through the whole time. We had a soft crust but wanted and liked it that way. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
i used my bread machine to kneed the dough and my oven to proof...it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I substitued a few items, but all around a great recipe. I can't believe how great tasting this is. I used unpitted Kalamata Olives and peeled by hand, they have 10 times more flavor than the pitted ones. Some Fresh Bakers Yeast and greek olive oil with tsp. of thyme worked wonders with Gold Medal (better for bread) flour. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I have never baked bread before. I made this recipe and loved it. The second time I made it I followed some of the suggestions and backed the initial temperature down to 450. The crust was thicker and cruchier than when I started at 500. I did note that at 500 the water pan was really pumping out the steam. Not so at 450. I think I'll stick with the 500 degee start. I did add a hint of garlic and some chopped fresh basil the second time. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Perfect but water is too much, it can be only 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
The bread came out with a great texture and looks exactly like the photo. I baked at 425 for 15 minutes and 350 for 30 minutes. It is virtually flavorless however, so I highly recommend adding some seasoning to it... rosemary, salt, etc. I look forward to trying this again with seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
My first ever loaf of bread and I was not very impressed. After having some homemade olive bread at a party and serendipitously coming across this recipe, I thought I'd give it try. I was rather disappointed with the results. After reading manwithabook's review and other bread recipes I too decided not to bake at 500'F so maybe that was a factor. I only had all purpose flour and I used a variety of olives from the olive bar from the local supermarket which were rather salty. Texture: too soft outside and inside. Flavor: except for the bits of olive, the bread itself lacked depth. Tasted a little too floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States