Mediterranean Beef Meatball Kabob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This is super tasty. I would have given it 5 stars but the directions are flawed and leave out the bread crumbs, eggs (although I used 1 whole egg and it was fine), and water that is listed in the ingredients list (I did not use the water though - my meat mixture did not need it) Additionally, it doesn't say to mince the garlic. I used an 80/20 meat as it is so much more flavorful than the lean stuff. I also used fresh flat leaf Italian parsley and 1 tbsp minced fresh garlic. I used seasoned bread crumbs and just 1/2 teaspoon cumin as it can be overpowering. I made the Greek Tzatziki sauce recipe from this site. The meatballs were full of flavor and held their own with the Tzatziki Sauce - they went very well together. I really think it is important to use fresh parsley and 1 tablespoon of garlic for best results along with a more flavorful meat like the 80/20. I cooked the meatballs at 425 for 15 minutes and they were juicy and delish! I broiled the flat bread until lightly toasted and topped with 4 meatballs, tzatziki sauce, tomatoes, cucumbers, red onion, and fresh parsley. We loved this meal! I served it with baked sweet potato fries which complemented the sandwich nicely! Great flavors! Thanks for a delicious recipe. I did notify allrecipes to the errors, so I'm sure they will correct the directions soon and I will change this to 5 stars then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
After reading the other reviews, I decided to add extra seasonings to the meatballs. I added some fresh oregano, fresh chopped mint, and onion to the seasonings already called for in the recipe. In addition to that, I used fresh breadcrumbs and milk and one whole egg. Served on warmed flatbread with store bought tzatziki and a combination of chopped tomatoes, cucumbers, red onion, parsely, fresh mint seasoned with salt and some lemon juice. With my changes, my family enjoyed this dinner very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I love summer when my herb garden is raging. I added fresh mint, thyme and a little basil to this recipes beefball mixture. Brushed fresh garlic butter on the naan before I toasted it the last few minutes under the broiler as the meatballs finished off. Loaded on the fresh tzatziki sauce, recipe from AR and all these fresh toppings! We enjoyed every Greek Island Summer bite. Great Lunch or light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
These were AMAZING. We like our sandwich's (or in the case, gyro) plain. It's also small because I made my own pita bread for the first time ever. I did add onion though. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I added some Greek Seasoning and used fresh minced garlic and parley and baked in oven as written. I also used the Tzatziki sauce on this website. My husband loved them and has already requested them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I thought this was a tasty basic meatball, but, the addition of the toppings are what made this dish. Based on the suggestion from other reviewers - I added some Greek seasoning to the meat mixture. Mine baked in exactly 18 minutes and resulted in a tender juicy meatball. I topped mine with cucumber, tomato, fresh parsley, green onions, feta cheese, and a simple tzatziki sauce made with fresh dill and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mariahsimone
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This was pretty good but the meatballs weren't all that flavorful. I used rosemary and evoo infused flatbread. We added the tomatoes, cucumbers, red onion, and tzatziki sauce. If the meatballs had more seasoning these would be amazing, I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariahsimone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
FANTASTIC! I used a whole egg instead of 2 whites, b/c I didn't want to waste the yolk, lol. Also, I added some fresh chopped mint and 1/2 of a grated onion to the meat mixture. The meatballs came out sooooo moist and delicious! I served them on the flatbread w/ tomatoes, onion, cukes and gyro sauce that I got from our Mediterranean market. These are a definite keeper...everyone LOVED them and I already can't wait to make them again~YUM!!!!! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I used 80/20 meat and the whole eggs, and added a quarter cup of Sriracha sauce and some chili flakes (we like it spicy). Made a long hot-dog shaped meatball on skewers to put it in lavash and pita with Greek Tzatziki and Authentic Taboulleh - it was the hit of the party! This one is definitely a keeper! If you barbecue it, make sure you oil your grate really thoroughly so that it doesn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was a little bland and I even doubled the salt and added oregano! I also used milk instead of water. I think I would add 1 and 1/2 tsp. salt next time. And maybe use flavored breadcrumbs instead of plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Meatball Grinder

This Italian meatball sandwich is hefty and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States