Mediterranean Barley Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This is a great salad. I found this recipe when I was trying to find something to do with a box of barley that wasn't soup. I mixed it up and took a taste before I placed it in the fridge and I was impressed with the flavor. I did add some feta cheese to it but what really kicked off was the mix of the olive oil and Balsamic vinegar. I will be making this again all summer long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is a good salad. I loved the texture of the barley. I used kalamati olives and some garlic powder. It was a great side dish for steak night and I ate the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I'm sorry, I just didn't care for this. It seemed very bland, even though I added chopped cucumber and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Excellent salad. Someone mentioned having the feeling that something was missing. I agree, I added a 1/2 cup of crumbled feta cheese and a little bit of salt and it worked great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Diced green pepper and red onion made great additions to this recipe. Better after 1 day once the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This salad is okay, but I don't like black olives and I thought it was missing something. I substituted Kalamata olives for the black olives, used basil instead of cilantro, and added chopped cucumber. You can also add a can of garbanzo beans to make it a vegetarian main dish. We topped with feta cheese, for a real Mediterranean flair. With the modifications, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I really liked this salad! It is hearty without being heavy. Even my husband liked it. I used chicken broth instead of the 2 tbsp of olive oil in the dressing. I also added cooked peas and squash. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was exactly what I was looking for! Wonderful, extremely flavorful and my husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Good but not great. It's missing something, just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Love this recipe. I added toasted pine nuts, more olive oil folded in and a little bit of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States