Mediterranean Barley Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
not a fan of the cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
If you're looking to eat more healthy this is a great recipe. This is defintely going in my recipe box for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanton, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Absolutely loved it! I was looking for a basic barley salad recipe to work from. I used fresh basil instead of cilantro, substituted pitted Kalamata olives for canned black olives, and also added toasted pine nuts and cherry tomatoes. I will definitely make this again! Tips: (1) Be sure to use good quality balsamic; (2) I rehydrated the sun-dried tomatoes in a small amount of hot water for 10 minutes for smoother blending, using the liquid also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Delicious! I doubled the dressing, used basil instead of cilantro, kalamata olives, and made it one day in advance. Before serving, I added feta cheese and some finely diced red bell pepper for colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This is a great salad. I found this recipe when I was trying to find something to do with a box of barley that wasn't soup. I mixed it up and took a taste before I placed it in the fridge and I was impressed with the flavor. I did add some feta cheese to it but what really kicked off was the mix of the olive oil and Balsamic vinegar. I will be making this again all summer long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is a good salad. I loved the texture of the barley. I used kalamati olives and some garlic powder. It was a great side dish for steak night and I ate the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I'm sorry, I just didn't care for this. It seemed very bland, even though I added chopped cucumber and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Excellent salad. Someone mentioned having the feeling that something was missing. I agree, I added a 1/2 cup of crumbled feta cheese and a little bit of salt and it worked great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Diced green pepper and red onion made great additions to this recipe. Better after 1 day once the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This salad is okay, but I don't like black olives and I thought it was missing something. I substituted Kalamata olives for the black olives, used basil instead of cilantro, and added chopped cucumber. You can also add a can of garbanzo beans to make it a vegetarian main dish. We topped with feta cheese, for a real Mediterranean flair. With the modifications, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States