Mediterranean Barley Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was a great recipe idea. I put my own spin on it because I wanted noticeable chunks of sun dried tomatoes in every bite. I used a good basil pesto, thinned with a bit of the olive oil and balsamic, for the dressing, omitted the cilantro, and stirred in chopped sun dried tomatoes along with the olives. Delicious! I might try some finely chopped red onion too next time - and there will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
A great base salad for eating all by itself, or by adding some of the items suggested by others (e.g. feta cheese, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Pretty good I used basil as well because I do not care for cilantro very much. I agree it needs something so I will have to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
although DH and I enjoy trying new recipes, this was a total flop. May have been a texture issue for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Photo by lovetoeat
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe pretty much exactly and threw in a handfull of pine nuts at the end. I thought it was delish just after making and look forward to tomorrow since every one said it gets better. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
One of my favorite recipes. Barley is a nice change of pace for a salad. I add chicken and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I first followed the recipe exactly and then started messing around with i (more garlic, cilantro and black olives). The great thing is you can use any kind of grain (I like either th ebarley or brown rice) and teh longer it sits the better it gets.. Everyone who tries this LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
not a fan of the cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
If you're looking to eat more healthy this is a great recipe. This is defintely going in my recipe box for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanton, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Absolutely loved it! I was looking for a basic barley salad recipe to work from. I used fresh basil instead of cilantro, substituted pitted Kalamata olives for canned black olives, and also added toasted pine nuts and cherry tomatoes. I will definitely make this again! Tips: (1) Be sure to use good quality balsamic; (2) I rehydrated the sun-dried tomatoes in a small amount of hot water for 10 minutes for smoother blending, using the liquid also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States