Medieval Chicken Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
An amazing mixture of spices and flavor. I use chicken stock for prepping the chicken. This recipe is excellent with lamb as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Fox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe was surprisingly good! It's got a very excellent mix of flavours. Somehow, I ended up with too little liquid though, so my pie was a bit dry, but I think next time that can be avoided by making sure my stock doesn't reduce too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I've made this pie twice now. It's an odd or distinctive combination of flavors that I'm not used to but I rather like it. The second time I used more dates (maybe 1/2 cup?) and a whole wheat crust. My family gobbled it up both times. We ate some spiced peaches with it because they seemed to fit the medieval theme. I recommend giving this one a chance! PS- For some reason, I enjoy the cold leftovers possibly better than when it was hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was a really nice twist on a chicken pot pie-the mace makes a big difference in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I was a bit skeptical about trying this but I thought why not? Thank goodness I did... The filling was absolutely delicious. I'm not a pie fan myself as I always find they never have enough filling but this was absolutley beautiful thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melowdie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Holy cow.... How delicious and, as one reviewer already said, filling! :-) Thank you SO MUCH for posting this recipe. It is a welcome addition to my family's favorites and a fun way to incorporate a History lesson into an everyday kind of event. Before tripping upon this recipe, I would not dream of eating ANY "pot pie" or "a la king" type of dish, as I found the tasteless, slimy fillings to be a complete turn-off. Dégoûtant! However, the rich, thick (thanks to the ground almonds), and well-spiced filling of this pie pleased the entire family. Perfect on a cold Winter's day. The only modifications I made were an egg-wash on top for a beautiful, golden brown glaze... and the addition of a handful of frozen peas/carrots (which I also HATE but ATE... LOL) in an attempt to sneak in some veggies for the children. Added those to the chicken's cooking water near the end of the cooking time. Oh, almost forgot - I added green cardamom pods to the chicken cooking water, too. However, they didn't lend much flavor... with the exception of a lone pod I missed fishing-out that exploded in my poor husband's mouth - a bit too much flavor there! Whooooooops. A tip to keep the edges of the pie crust from getting too brown: If you're already brushing the crust with an egg-wash, try rinsing the brush and giving the edges a good soaking brush with just plain water. I did that twice once the crust edges had reached optimum color, and the edges stayed beautiful. The color was unifo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Contrary to one reviewer's opinion, people didn't eat rancid meat in the middle ages. The spices they used were what was available at the time and pleasing to medieval palates. This is a delicious recipe--the version I use contains several eggs as well as a little roasted pork, another commonly used meat on non-fasting days. We leave out the nuts due to allergy, but almonds were a very common ingredient in the middle ages, so leave it in if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
GREAT recipe! Mace is my favorite spice and I love medieval type cooking. Well rounded rubust flavors, a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missyoumuch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
good god good! lol realy difrent but in a good way, conpletly fulling lol. this is a dish for a long day of hard work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Authentic in the sense that heavy spices would have been used to mask the taste and smell of rancid meat (since there was no refrigeration until the 20th c.), but my husband and I did not find the taste at all appealing. I had to toss over half the pie because neither of us were going to eat the leftovers. I don't know how authentic the cheese part is and the peasant most likely wouldn't have had access to the myriad of spices this dish calls for. It would be interesting to make for a school project but I wouldn't make it otherwise. It might have been [slightly] better if I hadn't used chicken breast - fatty thigh and leg would probably be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States