Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is exactly what it says it is, a very meat-tasting sauce. Do NOT expect a traditional/strong or fresh tomato flavor from this recipe. I should have known from the three bouillion and beef broth, but I never made spaghetti sauce before, so now I know. I love the simplicity of this recipe, but I would leave out the bouillion and the beef broth because I prefer spaghetti sauce with a strong/fresh tomato taste. I love that it's a thick sauce, so I think it's a good recipe, just not enough tomato flavor for me. I left out the pepperoni when I made this, and also used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Thanks for sharing this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETYBLKGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
THE BEST! I was making meatballs so I made this sauce without the meats. I basically followed the recipe; only changes I made were to add additional 1 tablespoon of minced garlic (as garlic lover), add additional 2 (15 oz) cans of tomato sauce (sauce was too thick), add 1 (28 oz) can of pureed tomatoes (sauce was too thick), add additional ½ teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes (for extra heat), add 2 teaspoons of soy sauce (for flavor and deep color), replace honey for the sugar and add additional 1 tablespoon of honey (for little bit of sweetness). My husband and 8 other guests raved! Easy, simple and delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This definitely gets 5 stars! This is my new meat sauce recipe from now on. I do make some changes: I use italian turkey sausage instead of pork, I omit pepperoni, I use a pack of fresh mushrooms, 1 whole green bell pepper, 1 whole red bell pepper, add a small can of extra tomato sauce, and definitely more garlic. I freeze most of a batch and have super-quick dinners when I need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This is a great sauce. So meaty! I used fresh tomatoes from the garden, omitted the mushrooms, added an extra TBS. of sugar, and added 1c. grated zucchini. Oh it is GOOD! It does make a lot. I was able to freeze 3 quart bags of sauce after we ate dinner. The kids love it too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Turn this into a yummy chili: Add a 1/4 cup of chili powder, 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper, an 8 oz. bag of cheddar cheese and 3 tablespoons of hot sauce, and you've got a great chili here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I tried this recipe and was pleasantly surprised. After mixing all of the ingredients, before simmering, the taste was good but not great. 2 hours of cooking dramatically improves this result so don't shortcut yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This really is a great sauce, it was my first attempt at doing it homemade vs. the jar. It wasn't as tomato-ey as I hoped so I didn't find it to be an outstanding sauce for spaghetti, but I froze leftovers and it made an awesome lasagna (my family raved). I am happy with most of the ingredients, but here are some alterations for my tastes. I will only use 1 bay leaf and 1 beef bouillon cube next time, as well as use 3 cans of tomato sauce, 1 can of puree, use red wine in place of beef broth. I doubled the herbs and garlic, because I like a lot of flavor. After reading another review, I may also try adding some soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This was pretty good and certainly quite different from my 'stand by' recipe. The only thing I changed was I used brown sugar instead of white. This recipe is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is the best spaghetti sauce I've ever had! This is a keeper, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
We will never buy jars or cans of spaghetti sauce again. This was truly outstanding. The only change I made was cooking my veggies and meat separately and adding the tomatoes and spices to the veggies. I then removed some of this sauce to simmer on its own for my vegetarian daughter and mixed the meat into the remainder. The leftovers are in the freezer and I can't wait until we have it again. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States