Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is the best spaghetti sauce recipe we've tried. The whole family loves it. We highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was amazing!!! Simmering it the whole length of time makes all the difference! I substituted italian tomatoes and italian tomato sauce instead of plain and loved it. I will use it as my go to sauce from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Best meat sauce ever. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Made this last week with a few adjustments for items we did not have on hand: left out ground sausage and pepperoni and used a total of 2.5 lbs 90/10 ground beef. Left out the tomato sauce and tomato paste, and used one 28-ounce can crushed tomatos. Left out the canned mushrooms and red peppers because we also didn't have those. Used 1-tablespoon honey instead of sugar just because. Not mentioned in the recipe, but I salt and peppered the meat and raw veggies after I added them to the pot. Did not use bouillon cubes because I didn't have them, but I used 4t. beef Better than Bouillon and 1-cup of water. I used everything else the recipe called for. Cooked 1 hr 45 minutes with lid on, then removed the lid and cooked another 30-45 minutes to intensify the flavor. Adjusted with salt and fresh ground black pepper in the end, and possibly the best meat sauce I have ever made and eaten. I usually make Mama DiSpirito meatballs with tomato sauce, but this was every bit as good as the giant Italian meatballs. Fabulous, and I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Fantastic sauce! Leaving out the bullion and beef broth gives it a great tomato taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
yes i have tried this, but left out pepperoni, to greasy, left out half of the sausage greasy also, but did everything to the tee, inplace of pepperoni and half of the sausage, i used plenty of meaty chopped portabella muchrooms (love shrooms), also i cooked some thin spghetti, and topped it of wit sauce, added some finely grated pharmasan chz and a salad, and somw crusty french garlic bread, yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is almost identical to my recipe that I concocted 40 years ago. All except I don't use celery or carrots, and instead of pork sausage I use Italian sausage. Also I add fresh grated parmesan to the sauce while cooking. For that little bit of sugar, I use brown sugar to cut the acidity in the sauce. For a little spark use a few good sprinkles of chili flakes to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I make a sauce very similar to this and I haven't tried this one, but just wanted to add a little tip when I make mine.... I buy a jar of Classico Bruschetta and add it to the sauce. It has all the flavors I want in my meat sauce and really adds to the taste. Same thing when I make Chilli, I throw in a jar of Salsa as it has all the flavours and textures I want as well as all the other things I put in it. It's a great little trick to make your sauces perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBAYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I made this sauce and it is excellent! I doubled the batch and froze the leftovers ( I have already used some of the frozen and it was also excellent - it freezes great!). As a side note - I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I used all dehydrated veggies when I made this and it came out perfectly. I had to add extra water and simmere it longer (obviously) but it is absolutely delicious. My family and I prefer it over the sauce the my MIL makes and that says A LOT since she is possibly the worlds best cook! Thank you so much for posting this. This is my new 'sketti sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Great flavor. I didn't add pepperoni or the beef bouillon cube. I think next time I will leave out the red pepper flakes and use sweet sausage instead of the hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States