Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Excellent recipe! Very thick and spicey, almost a cross between spaghetti sauce and chili. I actually had some of the leftover sauce the next day by itself. I did leave out the pepperoni because so many people said it made the sauce greasy, but I think I'll add it next time for some extra kick. This recipe takes a good bit of work, but if you have the time, it's well worth it! Next time I make it, I think I'll use it in a lasagna. It would be perfect for that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eutawville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Yummy! Even my finickly 5yo who doesn't usually like spaghetti liked this one! I halved the recipe and it was just right for our family of 6 (four of those ranging in age from 2yo to 10yo), though my oldest boy was scraping the bowl. Because of that, I wouldn't say that this serves 32 like the recipe states -- more like 10-12 depending on the appetites. The only changes I made were to leave out the mushrooms, red bell pepper and beef bullion/broth (replaced bullion with water). The taste didn't suffer at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I love this spaghetti sauce. It's very hardy and thick. I followed the recipe and it turned out wonderful. It's very easy to double!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
this sauce was the most amazing one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I'VE FOUND MY NEW SPAGHETTI SAUCE!! What a great sauce. I omitted pepperoni, and the beef cubes only because I didn't have any. I added more of some vegetables to prevent them from going bad. I doubled the recipe, and froze some, and tasted wonderful. Thank you for sharing the meatiest, thickest, and best tasting spaghetti sauce recipe I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
An excellent, thick spaghetti sauce, I made it just as the recipe dictated, and found it *really* spicy hot! So on the next try, I toned it down (omitted the cayenne, downsized the pepper and omitted the pepperoni) and it still made an excellent, flavorful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Centerville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This sauce is very tasty and thick. I did not add pepperoni or mushrooms because I hate both of them. I also used brown sugar, not white. Delicous and it makes plenty. I freeze it in batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great recipe! I've made it several times, and everyone asks me for the recipe when I do. I also think the leftover sauce makes great lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I have tried many recipes for spaghetti sauce over the years. I think I have finally found the one that I like and this is definitely it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Stroehlein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I've been making this recipe for 2 years now and am just now getting around to writing a review. This sauce is my favorite and the only spaghetti sauce I make now. I love all the veggies and spices in it. I also love that it makes enough to freeze half for another meal at a later time. Thanks for the great recipe! Oh, and I agree with the other poster that this may not be authentic Italian, but it's still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States