Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
It is really meaty! This is not a saucy sauce. It is thick and does not cover your noodles in a runny sauce. My husband and one of my boys liked it. I thought it was ok and my youngest, the picky eater in our family, would not touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good! Wasn't sure about the carrot taste in a pasta sauce at first, but it grew on me. Definitely better than the typical pre-made sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Excellent base recipe for a meaty sauce, but for my taste it needed a couple changes. I made it according to the recipe except I used hot pork sausage (which was awesome, so I'll be including it again in the future too), but next time, I'll omit the bell pepper that added a little too much sweetness, I'll add red wine and a little more bouillion. I also had to add about 1/3 cup of water this time, as the sauce was more like a chili than a sauce consistency. Other than that, the flavor was tasty and we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was a great spaghetti sauce. My family loves all the meat although I omitted the pepperoni. Next time I will try the suggestion by another member to turn it into Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
my family loves when I cook this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
It is definitely a different sauce. I thought the green pepper was a bit storng, it was hard to taste some of the other flavors, I'm gonna cut back on that if I make this a second time. I had it with spaghetti and also made a lasagna with it, it was good on both. It is spicy though (which I liked, but some thought it too spicy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
After reading many reviews I was concerned about al the meat but knew that was what I was looking for was a sauce with a ton of meat! So I made these adjustments… I used 60 oz of tomato sauce to make it more like a “sauce” I was not going to until I saw it all together. I only used one can of tomato paste and did not use the beef broth. Oh and fresh mushroom! It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLissa and Phillip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Great recipe, Used a good quality Pepperoni ,a mild Italian Sausage & left out the crushed chili peppers, may add them the next time was afraid would be too much like "chili" but would of added a bit of zing to it for something different. Great !! Will definetly make this one again,, have some still in my freezer !! yum !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Excellent recipe! Very thick and spicey, almost a cross between spaghetti sauce and chili. I actually had some of the leftover sauce the next day by itself. I did leave out the pepperoni because so many people said it made the sauce greasy, but I think I'll add it next time for some extra kick. This recipe takes a good bit of work, but if you have the time, it's well worth it! Next time I make it, I think I'll use it in a lasagna. It would be perfect for that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eutawville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Yummy! Even my finickly 5yo who doesn't usually like spaghetti liked this one! I halved the recipe and it was just right for our family of 6 (four of those ranging in age from 2yo to 10yo), though my oldest boy was scraping the bowl. Because of that, I wouldn't say that this serves 32 like the recipe states -- more like 10-12 depending on the appetites. The only changes I made were to leave out the mushrooms, red bell pepper and beef bullion/broth (replaced bullion with water). The taste didn't suffer at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States