Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This sauce was delicious. I used a Lb. of italian sausage instead of the ground beef and pork. I also used Rosemary instead of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe has a lot of potential with the beef base and the subtle blend of herbs. The first few bites were delicious. Unfortunately, the red pepper flakes made the sauce so hot that after a few bites my taste buds were burned and all I could experience was the heat. I was quite disappointed. If you try this recipe, make it without the red pepper, and I think it will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I've been making this recipe for several years now, after I first discovered it. My fiance absolutely loves it, and the long cook time is well worth the beautiful, chunky, delicious sauce that comes out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat H

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made it for my son's birthday and everyone loved it, even the people who don't normally eat spaghetti sauce with veggies. I have been requested to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I cooked this up and threw everything in the crockpot to simmer on low all day. I used all red pepper (noone in this house likes green pepper), I tripled the garlic (at least), I used all organic canned ingredients, I omitted the carrots and celery (I'm low on ingredients until shopping day). Because I used a double-strength canned beef broth, I did not use the bouillion cubes. I did add a glug of red wine at the last and I used brown sugar instead of white, only because that's what I always do with spaghetti sauce. This turned out really well and seemed to get even better the more it simmered in the crockpot. This made for a hearty spaghetti dinner, easily pulled together out with pantry ingredients plus this made enough for two more large meals later down the road.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is the best sauce I've ever had. I maker this over and over again for my family. I find it's great in a lasagne as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
very good recipe, lot's of body to it. Takes some time to make though. Started out by sauteed fresh mushrooms in butter, then the garlic and onion in olive oil. placed in a large pot with all the tomato stuff and sugar to start a simmer. browned all the meat, including peperoni, one at a time. added that to the base. then added broth, veggies, herbs and finally the wine. took a about an hour and a half preparing it this way. Adders and substitutions. added a whole peperoni stick 250gm. Used 4 links of medium hot italian sausages without the casings, and about 3/4 lb of ground beef. Used all the spices, as per the recipe. No need to add any salt or pepper. Just great the way it is. Added a cup of red wine, just to round out all those flavours. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
FANTASTIC! Even thought it's still 90 degrees here, I was in the mood to cook some "fall" comfort food. Hubby works at an Italian restaurant so I don't get to cook pasta at ALL :( He closed tonight so cooked this for my son. It was fantastic. I added a lil more broth than called for and more garlic, of course :) You have got to let it simmer for at least a couple of hours. 'm thinkin it's going to be even better tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
YUM! Love this sauce - so glad it makes tons to freeze for later. I prefer a meaty sauce to an overly tomato one, so this was ideal. Made exactly as written except I forgot the mushrooms (bummer) so I added some zucchini instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was quite a nice spaghetti sauce, I'm not going to lie. I changed a few things though. 1. sliced beef sausage instead of the other ones listed 2. few more cloves garlic because we like it 3. no tomato paste, basil leaves, thyme, or pepper flakes 4. used "spaghetti seasoning" and an extra teaspoon sugar and zucchini 5. browned beef and sausage in a frying pan before putting in pot. 6. used corningware pot instead of kettle, but will try it in a big frying pan next time as they do better on the stove top. Not sure if I'll make it again, but it was nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States