Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Very delicious, and was approved by the hubs. :) Only tweaks I might make to it would be less thyme. The amount called for was overpowering to both my husband and me, but everyone is different. Just our opinion! Otherwise, I'd def recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Florida, USA
Living In: Carson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I purposely made this because I don't like tomato sauce. It is awesome - I didn't even make the spaghetti to go with it. My daughter couldn't stop eating it. I am definitely freezing the leftovers for easy meals the rest of the month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is very difficult for me to say because I always thought I made the best spaghetti sauce but this is amazing. This will be the only spaghetti sauce I will ever make again. I have to admit I used fresh mushrooms because I don’t like caned and I didn’t drain because there was nothing to drain. Other than that I stuck to the recipe which is very difficult for me because I always think I can do better…. Well, most times I can! Oh, one more thing to mention. I tasted the sauce at one point and thought I had ruined it with the sugar; however, when finished it was only DELISHOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy Teal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is the best spaghetti sauce recipe we've tried. The whole family loves it. We highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was amazing!!! Simmering it the whole length of time makes all the difference! I substituted italian tomatoes and italian tomato sauce instead of plain and loved it. I will use it as my go to sauce from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Best meat sauce ever. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Made this last week with a few adjustments for items we did not have on hand: left out ground sausage and pepperoni and used a total of 2.5 lbs 90/10 ground beef. Left out the tomato sauce and tomato paste, and used one 28-ounce can crushed tomatos. Left out the canned mushrooms and red peppers because we also didn't have those. Used 1-tablespoon honey instead of sugar just because. Not mentioned in the recipe, but I salt and peppered the meat and raw veggies after I added them to the pot. Did not use bouillon cubes because I didn't have them, but I used 4t. beef Better than Bouillon and 1-cup of water. I used everything else the recipe called for. Cooked 1 hr 45 minutes with lid on, then removed the lid and cooked another 30-45 minutes to intensify the flavor. Adjusted with salt and fresh ground black pepper in the end, and possibly the best meat sauce I have ever made and eaten. I usually make Mama DiSpirito meatballs with tomato sauce, but this was every bit as good as the giant Italian meatballs. Fabulous, and I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Fantastic sauce! Leaving out the bullion and beef broth gives it a great tomato taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
yes i have tried this, but left out pepperoni, to greasy, left out half of the sausage greasy also, but did everything to the tee, inplace of pepperoni and half of the sausage, i used plenty of meaty chopped portabella muchrooms (love shrooms), also i cooked some thin spghetti, and topped it of wit sauce, added some finely grated pharmasan chz and a salad, and somw crusty french garlic bread, yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is almost identical to my recipe that I concocted 40 years ago. All except I don't use celery or carrots, and instead of pork sausage I use Italian sausage. Also I add fresh grated parmesan to the sauce while cooking. For that little bit of sugar, I use brown sugar to cut the acidity in the sauce. For a little spark use a few good sprinkles of chili flakes to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States