Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This is a wonderful spaghetti sauce. The only thing I changed was I did not use the bell peppers. My husband hates bell peppers and can pick the taste up no matter what. I'm glad the recipe made so much, so I can freeze the extras for later. GREAT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Excellent sauce -- made it twice, but the next time I would cut the thyme and basil in half. Don't be afraid to make the whole recipe -- it really will only serve 8-10, not 104.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I'm Italian and this is possibly the best sauce I've ever had. I made this sauce for a big family get-together and everyone wanted to get the receipe. This is a great sauce not only for its taste and heartiness, but because it's versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
wow... this is seriously good! thick and meaty...substituted Paul Newman Marinara sauce for the tomotoe sauce and couldnt find pepperoni sausage so just diced some 'pizza' pepperoni for the flavor. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
It is the best sauce I have ried in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This is truly a delicious spaghetti recipe! I don't think you could mess this one up if you tried. After I had browned the meat and sauteed the veggies, I realized I didn't have any beef broth or tomatoes. The only thing in my pantry with tomatoes was Ragu PIZZA sauce. I had no choice but to substitute, and the taste was WONDERFUL! No one would have ever guessed. I did add 1 extra beef bouillon cube and a little water. I chopped the vegs. up and then put them in the processor. My kids never knew what was in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
Instead of pepperoni sausage we used a bit of chorizo for extra spice. It was amazing. But you definitely have to like meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
Excellent, very hearty sauce. I made this the evening before a family "game night". Simmered for about 90 minutes on the first night and then about 30 minutes the following evening in preparation for serving. Flavors really blended nicely. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This recipe turned out great. Instead of the pepperoni, I doubled the ground beef and added 12 oz of sausage. I ended up having to use pizza sauce because it was too thick. I also let it simmer all day instead of just two hours and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I married into an Italian family, so I have had the pleasure of trying all kinds of sauces. This one was absolutely wonderful. My husband and I made it together and loved it. Yes, there are many ingredients to purchase, but it is well worth it. The recipe, as is, makes a ton....in fact, I am going to cut it in half next time. We loved the flavor, especially the fact that it is spicy and it is even better the next day. I would definately recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States