Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is exactly what it says it is, a very meat-tasting sauce. Do NOT expect a traditional/strong or fresh tomato flavor from this recipe. I should have known from the three bouillion and beef broth, but I never made spaghetti sauce before, so now I know. I love the simplicity of this recipe, but I would leave out the bouillion and the beef broth because I prefer spaghetti sauce with a strong/fresh tomato taste. I love that it's a thick sauce, so I think it's a good recipe, just not enough tomato flavor for me. I left out the pepperoni when I made this, and also used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Thanks for sharing this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETYBLKGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This recipe is GREAT! I made it without meat (to add when needed), increased the tomatoe sauce to thin out, and added a little olive oil. Made lasagna and still had three jars to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This was really good. I made it to a tee exept I left out the bay leaf because we don't like. Will add some more seasonings next time to make up for. But overall it was really good. I think next time I will use Italian Sausage. Thanks for the post. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
absolutely awesome recipe. Definitely will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
My family and I love this recipe, instead of pork sausage I added hot Italian sausage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
The best sauce I've ever made and one of the best I've tasted. My husband, who hates most homemade spaghetti sauces, moaned the entire he at his dinner. I used brown sugar, not regular sugar and I did not add pepperoni because I don't like it. It you don't like a slightly spicy aftertaste, don't use all the red pepper flakes. It is mild, but my 11 yr. old didn't like the slight hotness. It's so thick you can almost eat it as a meal by itself. First time I've been excited to eat spaghetti in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is by far the best sauce I have ever tasted. I did leave out the celery and carrots, but other than that followed the directions. It was very easy to make. I had great reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I burned the bottom a little so the whole thing had a smokey flavor but the smell was to die for. Everyone that ate some had seconds and thought it was so tasty! It truly is very meaty! and very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I didn't have a couple of the ingredients such as the bell peppers and pepperoni and it was still DELICIOUS. I put the sauce in the crock pot and let it sit on low and it seemed so easy and simple. For now on, this will be the sauce recipe for the my king. :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I double and sometimes triple the recipe so I can freeze several containers for later. It is the best sauce I have ever made or tried elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lumberton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States