Meaty Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Love this recipe! We've made it several times. Things I've ended up doing different: -Add chicken after a few hours - we feel it gets to dry when it's in from the beginning. -Use shrimp instead of ham - which we don't add until the last hour or 2 of cooking. -Add 1.5c white rice at the last hour or two - this is scary to do, but if you give it enough time, eventually the rice cooks perfect and absorbs the extra liquid. -No file powder - what is that anyway??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great recipe for slow cooker! Didn't use file powder, but turned up to high last 30 minutes and added rice to entire mix. Can use instant rice or long grain, but might take longer with long grain. Good for all of our family as we have shrimp haters among us! Boo! Doubled recipe easily and froze half for another night! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was a fun recipe to try for Fat Tuesday! This makes a lot of jambalaya, for sure. I used the published amounts of chicken and sausage, but halved the ham and added about 6 oz shrimp at the end of cooking. I used the spices exactly as published including the file powder, delicious, I would call this a medium spicy hot finished. You may want to half or omit the cayanne if you don't like spicy, but it was perfect for us. This is a breeze to put together and great for weeknights. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Love this. I followed the recipe pretty closely. I shredded the chicken instead & I also crumbled the sausage instead of cutting into slices. I didn't use ham. I also used dice tomatoes w/ green chiles. I then put it all in the crock pot on high for 4 hours. About an hour before I was ready to eat I made 1.5 cups of white rice & added that to the crock pot, then left that in there on warm for another hour. The only thing I would change is the cayenne pepper. My tongue LOVES spicy, but my stomach hates it. I would only put 1/2 TSP next time, 1 TSP really gives it a kick. I also didn't use file powder. It was freaking delicious though. Especially adding the rice & letting that soak all the flavors for an hour. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Excellent, and easy peasy. A little extra cajun seasoning for me and I was a happy camper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Excellent. Threw in a small can of low sodium V8 cause I wanted to get rid of it. Also tossed in 2 , 14 oz. Cans of tomato, okra & corn cause that's what was handy. The best jambalaya ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Seriously good jambalaya!!! But okay, I did make a few changes just to suit our tastes. I skipped the cayenne and the cajun seasoning and just threw in 1 1/2 teaspoons Old Bay seasoning. I also omitted the thyme and file powder and threw in basil instead. At the end, I stirred in 1 1/4 cup of brown rice and some shrimp (in place of the ham). Oh so very, very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
so easy to make and flavorful. Followed recipe except used a red bell pepper instead of green and it turned out amazing. very spicy just the way we like it. would recommend cutting back on spice for anyone that can't handle hotness. thanks for sharing will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blevande

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was easy to prepare the night before and throw in the crock pot in the morning. It certainly packs a spicy punch! It was great served over rice. Lots for leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I omitted the ham and used shrimp, rice and okra as other suggested. I reduced the Cayenne Pepper to 1/4 tsp. We aren't into anything too spicy. This was perfect, it made lots and froze some for another day. Didn't use file powder. File powder is ground sassafras leaves used as a thickener. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States