Meaty Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by anhackett
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This recipe makes a lot of food! Especially since I added 3 cups of instant rice towards the end of cooking because there was a lot of excess liquid. I also added my chicken about half way through the cooking process. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is my go to cold weather dish. It is absolutely delicious, and my whole family eats it up! I do use the traditional shrimp instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Workman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Made this three times now and each time it was awesome. We like shrimp so I add some the last 30 mins and rice to the crock pot it is addictive and yummy. The flavor and spices are great. It has become a family favorite. Thanks for sharing. Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe fairly closely. A few changes including adding extra sausage in place of the shrimp, used a red bell pepper instead of a green, no filing powder and cut the cayenne pepper by half. I added the chicken and 1.5 cups of long grain brown rice at the last 2 hours and turned heat up to high. Everything turned out fantastic! Had a ton of leftovers for the week! One question though, the rice was still very moist by the end and I am unsure as to why for I am still learning the trades of cooking! Anyone have any advice as to why the rice was so moist? Over cooked perhaps? Thanks! Great recipe and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed this recipe with all the ingredients except: I used fresh shrimp (adding the last 30 minutes) instead of ham, and I used Old Bay Seasoning in places of the file. WOW!!! Perfect heat with the andouille and cayenne pepper! Served over rice (or without), it's just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was fantastic! I added cooked shrimp the last hour And did not use ham. I stirred in brown rice the last hour which absorbed the excess liquid. I didn't have file powder either. I used two cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes. I did everything else as directed in recipe. The jambalaya turned out very yummy. Husband and I liked the spice. Just right for us. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsusalis
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is delicious and spicy! I actually swapped the ham for frozen shrimp and served it with Quinoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This recipe is deeeelicious. The andouille really makes it amazing. I used dark meat chicken instead of breasts. The chicken really should go in about halfway through so it is still tender and flavorful. I didn't have file powder and I didn't want to spend $11 to buy a tiny jar of Sassafras salt so I just left it out. I also didn't have any thyme. I added some ground coriander. I cooked some rice in a pot and served it under the jambalaya. I don't like mixing rice with anything soupy because it doesn't save as well. This recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
So so good!!! I make two batches of this at our family cabin trip up north for a crowd. One with the cayenne and one without. People look forward to it! I make it as is and add shrimp at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe is amazing and great to feed guests!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States