Meaty Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed this recipe with all the ingredients except: I used fresh shrimp (adding the last 30 minutes) instead of ham, and I used Old Bay Seasoning in places of the file. WOW!!! Perfect heat with the andouille and cayenne pepper! Served over rice (or without), it's just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was fantastic! I added cooked shrimp the last hour And did not use ham. I stirred in brown rice the last hour which absorbed the excess liquid. I didn't have file powder either. I used two cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes. I did everything else as directed in recipe. The jambalaya turned out very yummy. Husband and I liked the spice. Just right for us. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsusalis
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is delicious and spicy! I actually swapped the ham for frozen shrimp and served it with Quinoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This recipe is deeeelicious. The andouille really makes it amazing. I used dark meat chicken instead of breasts. The chicken really should go in about halfway through so it is still tender and flavorful. I didn't have file powder and I didn't want to spend $11 to buy a tiny jar of Sassafras salt so I just left it out. I also didn't have any thyme. I added some ground coriander. I cooked some rice in a pot and served it under the jambalaya. I don't like mixing rice with anything soupy because it doesn't save as well. This recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
So so good!!! I make two batches of this at our family cabin trip up north for a crowd. One with the cayenne and one without. People look forward to it! I make it as is and add shrimp at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe is amazing and great to feed guests!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I omitted the parsley, file powder and ham. I also added double the cayenne pepper accidentally but it was still delicious! We love spicy so this was perfect. I would definitely make again. Oh and I served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I omitted the ham and used shrimp, rice and okra as other suggested. I reduced the Cayenne Pepper to 1/4 tsp. We aren't into anything too spicy. This was perfect, it made lots and froze some for another day. Didn't use file powder. File powder is ground sassafras leaves used as a thickener. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
first time I have ever made jambalya. This is really good! Next time I make it, I will use a less spicey sausage than andiulle. My mouth is still on fire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This has a wonderful array of flavors. I wouldn't add the sausage and chicken until the last 2 hours, because it will dry out the meat if you add as stated. We substituted fresh shrimp in place of the ham, added the last 30 minutes of cook time. I added rice the last hour and half and in order to get it to actually cook I had to add a cup or 2 of chicken broth and then the rice became mushy but it was still worth it. I would recommend making this without the rice and just serve it over cooked rice. We really enjoyed this. I will make it again. Not really spicy for our taste though next time we will up the Cajun spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States