Meaty Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I have never heard of Jambalaya without rice? Even the store bought packages include rice? The ingredients however are excellent and I thank you ...but what about the rice? New Orleans here....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I have not tried this dish. Im fron the cajun country, our jambalaya has rice in it. It does look delicious, but I would call it Gumbo. Thank for the recipe. I have to rate this, but its hard because I have not tried it. So on looks i will give it a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This is very close to my recipe. I use Hot Links instead of the andouille and fire roasted tomatoes. Then at the last hour I add rice. So fast and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves - cut into 1-inch cubes 1 pound andouille sausage, sliced 1 pound Black Forest ham, cut into cubes 1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes with juice 1 large onion, chopped 1 large green bell pepper, chopped 1 cup chicken broth 1 cup chopped celery 2 teaspoons dried oregano 2 teaspoons dried parsley 2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper 1 teaspoon file powder (optional) 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme These are the ingredients listed when I'm making my post so if it's edited later I don't look like a fool - and one person even added okra ??? So, where is the RICE? Jambalaya is all about the seasonings, meats or seafood and RICE! Did anyone who made this recipe and rave about it not realize that the RICE was missing? And who adds file powder to jambalaya? File powder added to a large pot of anything will make it thick and stringy - it's meant to be added to each "gumbo" bowl at the table. Please don't start adding New Orleans ingredients "hodge-podge" because it sounds good. If you add pre-cooked rice after the fact then that's not real Jambalaya either, it's just rice and gravy. Jambalaya is rice cooked in the broth and seasonings and meats so that all of the flavorings are incorporated into the rice and the starch from the rice combines with the rest of the ingredients to make a rice dressing type mixture. I'm sure the ingredients in the above recipe tastes good but it's not authentic jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Graffagnino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Turned out well, but will use 1/2 of the cayenne pepper called for in the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anhackett
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This recipe makes a lot of food! Especially since I added 3 cups of instant rice towards the end of cooking because there was a lot of excess liquid. I also added my chicken about half way through the cooking process. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is my go to cold weather dish. It is absolutely delicious, and my whole family eats it up! I do use the traditional shrimp instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Workman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Made this three times now and each time it was awesome. We like shrimp so I add some the last 30 mins and rice to the crock pot it is addictive and yummy. The flavor and spices are great. It has become a family favorite. Thanks for sharing. Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe fairly closely. A few changes including adding extra sausage in place of the shrimp, used a red bell pepper instead of a green, no filing powder and cut the cayenne pepper by half. I added the chicken and 1.5 cups of long grain brown rice at the last 2 hours and turned heat up to high. Everything turned out fantastic! Had a ton of leftovers for the week! One question though, the rice was still very moist by the end and I am unsure as to why for I am still learning the trades of cooking! Anyone have any advice as to why the rice was so moist? Over cooked perhaps? Thanks! Great recipe and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed this recipe with all the ingredients except: I used fresh shrimp (adding the last 30 minutes) instead of ham, and I used Old Bay Seasoning in places of the file. WOW!!! Perfect heat with the andouille and cayenne pepper! Served over rice (or without), it's just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States