Meaty 'Cuban Black Bean' Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was fairly bland on it's own- I added chili powder, garlic, onion powder, and cayenne and it turned out fairly decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Good recipe! I sauteed the onion and fresh garlic with some carrots first, then added a carton of beef stock and 4 cups of water instead. Used 2 cans of beans (or one can of beans and one can of lentils) and added some baby bow tie pasta. Also added the tomato paste at the same time as everything else and just let it boil for about 20 mins. You could even use canned diced potatoes instead of pasta or rice and/or add some spinach for extra fiber and calcium. Great quick,healthy, hearty and easy meal especially in the fall/winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I used canned black beans and Andouille sausage as that's what I had on hand. It's pretty good made as written but I threw in a good pinch of Adobo seasoning and also some fresh cilantro for extra flavor. Next time I'll add a fresh jalapeno or two. Thanks, Judi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Unappealing look to it. Definitely not a visually appealing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Overall very good. I did add salt and increased the spices. Topped with lime fresca (lime zest and sour cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sedonabelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
The soup was a very hearty dish. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Kroeker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
this is a very easy recipe but lacks flavor and spice. I used canned black beans to save time with soaking overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Burbul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Really enjoyed this one and intend to make it many times now that the weather is getting cooler. Great taste and my husband, who is such a picky eater (argh) LOVED it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
It is a great recipe for a rainy day. The taste is great. We also added 1 tsp. salt and 2 tsp. granulated garlic which enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saucier, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
Not real popular at my house. The kids did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States