Meatloaf...a Little Southwest Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This will be my new go-to meatloaf recipe. It was excellent. I used salsa with a medium heat level and mesquite bbq sauce. Followed the recipe to a "T", and I found nothing that I would change; it's perfect as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I've prepared a south-western meatloaf for years, much like this one. Instead of bread crumbs I use crushed Fritos corn chips and some taco spices. I made this the first time for my father. I was just a young girl feeding Dad while Mom was away. He said "that was the best darned meatloaf I've ever had, but don't tell your Mom I said that". They are both gone now and I think of Dad when I make this meatloaf. Thanks for the memories Dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I have modified this recipe to use ro-tel instead of salsa and more spicy bbq sauce than ketchup in both loaf and cupcake sizes and it's awesome! Pop a little garlic mashed potatoes on top and the cupcakes are a mad hit, plus, you can freeze the naked cupcakes for a quick snack at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texjen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very tasty with a little kick. I added extra cornflake Crumbs, soft but not falling apart. May try with one egg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We love this recipe my kids used to always complain when I made meatloaf for dinner until now, when I make this recipe I hear compliments not complaints! I did not make any changes except I add BBQ sauce on top towards the end of the cooking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I thought this was really good but I added ranch dressing to give it a little more pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Russell's
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
First time I ever made meatloaf and this was DELICIOUS AND MOIST!!! I used ground chicken instead of beef and had to add more bread crumbs because it was too wet. YUMMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Like many others who reviewed, I am not generally a fan of meatloaf, but husband likes it, so I thought I'd give it another try. I really liked the moisture and flavor of this recipe. Like at least one other, I used Panko for the breadcrumbs, because I had them on hand. And I used just one egg at the suggestion of some. It was a bit crumbly, but I highly prefer that to the more firm recipes I've used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Huizing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
The tastiest meatloaf I have tried. I am using the recipe since the day I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sashag

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Great flavor! Used a 20 oz. package of ground turkey, 1 egg, and just 2 Tbs of the BBQ sauce and a splash of spicy mustard. Cooked for 1 hour and 15 minutes until the internal temp reached 165. Added shredded cheese on top and placed under the broiler for the last few minutes. Held together just fine! Served with rice and steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States