Meatloaf...a Little Southwest Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
followed the recipe to the letter.the flavor was very tasty, only thing wrong was that I used thawed hamburger,the loaf was very "wet" or not firm.even with that,there was'nt much left over.baked mac and cheese accompanied the meal. Will definitely make it again but use fresh not previously frozen ground beef, if that does'nt fix it maybe one more egg and an increase in the breadcrumbs to make it firm. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geoff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used Pork Sausage and sprinkled mozzarella cheese and spread tomato paste on the top, it was an awesome meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RevConrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was the best meatloaf. I changed a few things. I used ground Turkey instead of groud chuck or beef. I also added 3 tbl of barby sause. I had made some hot mustard sause and added 2 tbls . I twas awsome and my husband loved it. THANK YOU... Debbie from WV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This meatloaf is great! I'm an impatient cook, so I didn't let it cook long enough. However, it was great and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NPulcini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This was the best meatloaf I've ever made in my 30 years of making them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Made this last night for the fam and they ALL loved it! It was nice and moist. I think next time I might only use 1 egg. Also, I omitted the onion since the salsa I used was pretty chunky. I used onion powder (~1tsp.) and garlic powder (~1Tblsp.), also. This is TOTALLY going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
We love this recipe. I have made it several times and I have used various BBQ sauces and salsas and it always turns out great. Nice change from the standard meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Loved this meatloaf. Made it with ground turkey and added a few dashes of chili pepper and cayenne pepper to give it a nice (but not overwhelming0 kick. Added pressed garlic as well. The meatloaf was nice and moist. I had some right after it came out of the oven and it crumbled a little. Served more of it an hour later and it stayed together nicely. It was big hit. Will definintely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I LOVED THIS RECIPE, VERY TASTY, I TYPICALLY DO NOT CARE FOR MEATLOAF, BUT THIS CHANGED THAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I used 1 1/4 lbs. ground turkey instead of the 1 1/2 ground beef ( healthier) and only 1 egg. Most of the reviews read that it didn't hold together well. I'm pretty sure you should only add one egg per lb of meat which is most likely why it is too loose as written, it either needs 2 lbs of meat or 1 egg. I choose the latter. I shaped it into a loaf on a foil-covered cookie sheet (with edges) rather than in a loaf pan. Also I let the meat loaf "rest" for about 5 minutes before slicing it. I gave it 5 stars because most meatloaf recipes do not translate well to a turkey meatloaf, but this one was very good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States