Meatloaf...a Little Southwest Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
We love this recipe. I have made it several times and I have used various BBQ sauces and salsas and it always turns out great. Nice change from the standard meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This was the best meatloaf I've ever made in my 30 years of making them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy ley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I used 1 1/4 lbs. ground turkey instead of the 1 1/2 ground beef ( healthier) and only 1 egg. Most of the reviews read that it didn't hold together well. I'm pretty sure you should only add one egg per lb of meat which is most likely why it is too loose as written, it either needs 2 lbs of meat or 1 egg. I choose the latter. I shaped it into a loaf on a foil-covered cookie sheet (with edges) rather than in a loaf pan. Also I let the meat loaf "rest" for about 5 minutes before slicing it. I gave it 5 stars because most meatloaf recipes do not translate well to a turkey meatloaf, but this one was very good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This recipe was different, but I wasn't hot over it. It was so moist, it fell apart when cut into. I had to eat it like ground hamburger rather than slice it. Maybe more breadcrumbs or using one egg instead of two would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was very tasty as written. I do think next time I will add more crumbs or crackers to hold it together a little more. I guess that is just what I am more use to. But the flavor was good and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
loved this meat loaf so did my husband! and he's pretty picky! i used everything but celery sald(didnt have any) and i replaced bread crumbs with oatmil. it was great i think i could o used another egg to make to hold better and i only used 1 lb of ground beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
very good, easy and made great leftover sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Made this last night for the fam and they ALL loved it! It was nice and moist. I think next time I might only use 1 egg. Also, I omitted the onion since the salsa I used was pretty chunky. I used onion powder (~1tsp.) and garlic powder (~1Tblsp.), also. This is TOTALLY going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
this was okay, we used a capsicum salsa and it didn't really go, would make it again without tweaking and see how it turned out. Mine was lovely and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Really tasty recipe! I found that this, if eaten the day prepared, is alittle too moist, and would suggest cutting back on the amount of liquid. However, if eaten the next day or two... firms up and is better. But really a wonderful taste! Will definately make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States