Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Fixed this tonight for the second time this week. All I can think about is meat loaf now! I also did a tad of substituting but only because I didn't have some of the ingredients, tomato soup and steak sauce became catsup and Worcestershire sauce. I'm positive it would be delicious in the original version but LOOOOOOVED mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I loved the ingredients in this meatloaf. I made some changes based on what my family likes. I used half the can of soup, one egg, half the onion, no rolled oats at all, 2 Tbs worchestershire sauce, one Tbs prepared mustard, and 1/2 tbs of course black pepper. I used the other half the can of tomato soup along with 1 15oz can of tomato sauce, 1 Tbs brown sugar, 1 Tbs worchestershire, 1 tsp prepared mustard, and a sprinkle of black pepper to make a glaze. I baked the loaf at 350 for about 40 min. I drained off the grease then poured the glaze on top. Continued baking until the sauce was simmering, approx. 15-20 mins. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweety_pie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
So yummy! I omitted the tomato soup and used only 1/3 cup ketchup and added a little salt and pepper. I served it with rice and even my picky 2 year old liked it! I was a bit skeptical about the oats but I couldn't even tell they were in there. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I used this recipe to make a surprise candlelight dinner for my Fiance last night. I altered the recipe a little. I added Worcestershire sauce instead of steak sauce beings that was all we had. I had no onions so instead I put half a packet of liptons dry onion soup mix and a tsp of onion powder. I also added a 1/2 tbs of minced garlic. It came out amazing. The only problem I had with it is that it did fall apart and was slightly mushy. Flavor was amazing though. I would suggest adding some Garlic salt and finding a way to make it a stronger consistency. My fiance had no complaints and was very happy though. Thank you OP for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is what my mom always made, with a few little changes. Because we kids didn't like onion, she subbed a packet of onion soup mix. Instead of the steak sauce, she used Worcestershire sauce and added some liquid smoke. Also, she made a sauce of ketchup, brown sugar and yellow mustard for on top. She always fried this up in her electric skillet with carrots, potatoes and stewed tomatoes surrounding the meatloaf. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Add more oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I have to say that everyone in my family (including my 2 boys) loved it. My middle son actually said "this is the best meatloaf you've ever made". The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I had to add a lot more oats than the recipe called for because it was way too moist. And also because it looks really ugly when it is done. LOL But it's a great recipe that just needs some adjusting. Next time I may leave out the ketchup, which is really bad for you anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Absolutely perfect; easy, tasty, slices easy and has that all-american feel to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
flavor was excellent, but it didn't stay together and needed much more filler. also had to cook it for about 30 mins longer than called for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abreitbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was the best meatloaf I have ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States