Meatloaf with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Definite keeper! My husband dislikes meatloaf but this was all I had in the freezer. It smelled good just mixing up the meat So I kept my fingers crossed. The kids even asked what I was cooking it smelled so good! Hubby came in and his first comment was how good it smelled. I was afraid to tell him meatloaf so when I did he made a face. He could not get enough! Had seconds plus ate every bit of the gravy too! The next night the kids even asked for it again! Only change I made was I used sour cream and Lipton onion mix and when making the gravy added a little milk as suggested in previous posts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is a new way to have Meatloaf. So far this is a winner in my family and as much love I have for ketchup, but no anymore for meatloaf. Give it a try it is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was very flavorful, however I did add approx four tablespoons of gravy (from a jar) to the soup and dip mixture. Baking time took about an hour and a half. I used the full amount of bread crumbs because I don't like moist meatloaf. I didn't have an onion, so I used onion salt, also had to use part italian crumbs. The Dilll gave it good flavor.. I will make this again for sure, my hubby liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
The meatloaf was great. I did have a problem with the sauce it was way to salty for our tastes so I thinned it out with a little bit of coffee and red wine, let it simmer until it thickened back up. It came out great. Used the extra sauce that I ended up with as a sauce for egg noodles. It was a great change from the Italian meatloaf I tend to make. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I always test a recipe as written with no changes. My wife raved about this for two days. My son had it for lunch the following day and declared it the best meatloaf he had ever had. I guess this will become my go to recipe for meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dardenne Prairie, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I did not care for this. I followed the recipe to the tee, just to give a fair judgement of it. Bland, no flavor, and absolutely did nothing for the palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Easy, tasty and moist! I cut the recipe in half and used ground turkey, a mire poix mix and skipped the gravy. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very yummy! I halved the dill because my hubs is a little "ehhh" about dill. I also used onion powder instead of the onions - after a long day of work and still unpacking from a move, chopping onions was not on my priority list. I loved the sauce - it was even better the next day. Hubs ate it... they commented it would be good with ketchup (lol). So - I'll make again and lather mine in sauce and he can have some ketchup and we'll all be happy :) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
We really liked this! It's a great recipe if you're trying to get rid of the Costco bin of mushrooms : ). At first, I thought the dip portion of the recipe was just calling for the dry dip mix---good thing I wisened up and realized it meant actual dip. Mixed half of a dry ranch dip packet with 8 oz of sour cream. Also, sauteed sliced mini-portabello mushrooms with a little bit of garlic salt to add to the sauce. Only thing I wasn't such a fan of is the dill--think I'll cut back on that to 1/2 tsp. We thought it was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Loved it. Nice to have a new comfort food with ground beef. Didn't have onion dip, so I basically made onion dip with 1 cup sour cream and 1/2 pkg of beefy onion soup mix. I let the flavors blend together for awhile before using. Otherwise made as directed. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States