Meatloaf with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Outstanding! Such a wonderful change of pace from the *sweeter* meatloaves I tend to make. This held together wonderfully and the flavor was out of this world. The taste reminded us of a mix between Salisbury Steak and Beef Stroganoff. I left out the celery and dill weed. I also cut down the bread crumbs to about 3/4 cup. This helped to keep it from drying out. My meatloaf was done in 45 minutes. So, I topped it with the sauce and baked it for another 10 minutes. I will make this again and again! Thanks, TRAVLEE! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Is the mother of invention sprouted sometimes from desperation?? lol. I found myself w/out onion soup mix for this recipe...so going through my packets I found a seasoning packet from a box of stovetop stuffing (in which I had used the bread crumbs for another recipe). This was the only change to the meatloaf recipe. WE LOVED IT! What a nice variation from having to use ketchup or tomato sauce, etc. Will be a 'for sure' rotation in our dinner menus! Thanks for sharing this recipe w/us! :) The gravy was 'icing on the cake'..very creamy and yummy on mashed potatoes and the meatloaf!! Ok, I'll stop gushing now lol. (honestly the submitter and I are NOT related lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
AMAZING! I have been looking for a meatloaf recipe for so long and I've finally found it! I used half the amount of bread crumbs -- and I actually used corn flake crumbs because that's what I had. I would highly recommend the sauce -- I ate it with and without and definitely preferred it with the sauce! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This meatloaf was moist and delicous. We all loved it. I cut the recipe in half and wished I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I followed the other reviewers ,used beefy onion soup mix and out with the dill. Lost the recipie and had to find it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
dynamite...the only meatloaf i have EVER mildly liked and i loved it! eating the leftovers today for lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
The sauce with this meatloaf is outstanding and goes well on mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Very, very good! Used sour cream and french onion dip. Very tasty, much better than tomatoe based meatloafs. The gravy was a very nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOEMOMMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
My husband loved this meatloaf! I usually won't eat it, but this recipe made it so moist and delicious, I enjoyed it very much. I omitted the onion soup mix, but otherwise followed this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Really GOOD! Next time I will cut the dill in half. It's not my favorite spice, and it was just too present for me. Otherwise -YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States