Meatloaf with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
This was the best meatloaf I have ever made, but I did make a few changes. First of all, I didn't use dip, I used a half cup sour cream and added a packet of beefy onion soup mix. Also, I made my own gravy because my family prefers beef gravy. It was very moist and flavorful and I will be making it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Is the mother of invention sprouted sometimes from desperation?? lol. I found myself w/out onion soup mix for this recipe...so going through my packets I found a seasoning packet from a box of stovetop stuffing (in which I had used the bread crumbs for another recipe). This was the only change to the meatloaf recipe. WE LOVED IT! What a nice variation from having to use ketchup or tomato sauce, etc. Will be a 'for sure' rotation in our dinner menus! Thanks for sharing this recipe w/us! :) The gravy was 'icing on the cake'..very creamy and yummy on mashed potatoes and the meatloaf!! Ok, I'll stop gushing now lol. (honestly the submitter and I are NOT related lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Outstanding! Such a wonderful change of pace from the *sweeter* meatloaves I tend to make. This held together wonderfully and the flavor was out of this world. The taste reminded us of a mix between Salisbury Steak and Beef Stroganoff. I left out the celery and dill weed. I also cut down the bread crumbs to about 3/4 cup. This helped to keep it from drying out. My meatloaf was done in 45 minutes. So, I topped it with the sauce and baked it for another 10 minutes. I will make this again and again! Thanks, TRAVLEE! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
This recipe is definitely for the brave. The flavors are bold and very strong. I will be making some changes next time I make this dish because the flavor of the onion dip was to. overpowering; 4 oz. of onion dip, divided with 4 oz, of sour cream, divided. I will also be adding 1/4 cup of milk to the gravy to thin it some. Other than some tweaking, this recipe is a nice change from an ordinary meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Made this for my husband because he likes meatloaf. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly. I usually don't like meatloaf, but I loved this recipe. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This meatloaf was moist and delicous. We all loved it. I cut the recipe in half and wished I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
My family loved this ! French Onion dip works well too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
The older people in my family really enjoyed this meatloaf made exactly as the recipe calls to do. It is not spicy but very tasty. I think I would like it with the Creole seasoning added as well! Easy to make and freezes well without the sauce on top. Add that later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
this was really good, but i didnt have the onion dip mix, instead i used a can of french onion soup, a few heaping dollips of sour cream and a bit of extra bread crumbs .. delish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agriff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Yum..I didn't have any sour cream and onion so just used sour cream. Easy, yummy and even better the next day as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States