Meatloaf with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I am the one that submitted this recipe, and I would like to add that you really need to use MILD Italian sausages or it becomes way to hot. Also, I used dry cream of wheat cereal, and do not over mix, but mix well enough to get the cereal mixed in well enough. I also cook it for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. I let it stand for about 10 minutes before serving because it taste better when it is not so hot. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
OK, my turn.. I live part time in The Villages, Florida where there are many, many golf courses and country clubs. One of the newer country clubs serves a meatloaf that is an exact replica of this one! It is one of the most popular dishes that are ordered. I tried this one since it sounded like it would pretty much match theirs. WoW!! My husband couldn't believe I made it. It is amazingly delicious. I am SO happy I found it. It's the same size coming out as it is going in. How many recipes can claim that? It's HUGE. Cold sandwiches the next day were excellent. Can't wait to make it again. Just try it.. you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I have 4 kids and a hubby and we loved it, I did make a couple modifications. 1/2 gr pepper (instead of 1), very finely chopped, 1 large onion (instead of regular), finely chopped, (the kids don't notice them). 2 tbsp soya sauce instead of worcestershire. 2 lbs ground beef (instead of 1 1/4). 1/2 cup dry not hot cream of wheat. Put a little BBQ sauce on top before putting in oven. All other ingredients stayed the same. Put in 8x8 glass pan and baked 1 hour at 350. Just perfect and moist. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This meatloaf has a nice flavor and texture; I think the cream of wheat cereal is the key. I microwaved the onions and green peppers before adding them to make sure they would be well cooked. Possibly next time I'll bake at a lower temperature, as all the sides of the loaf were a bit tough. Adding Italian seasonings, garlic, and topping with ketchup before baking gives even more of an Italian flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Just love this. I use this for making meatballs. The one thing I found was, when using the hot wheat cereal, it made the meatballs more moist. I also tried it with bread crumbs and another time with crutons. Although they were good, the ones with the Wheat cereal, was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
I used bread crumbs instead of the wheat. It worked out fine. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
The suasage is a great twist on standard meatloaf. It wasn't overpowering and gave it a great taste. I was afraid the pork would dry it out, but it was just as moist as I hoped. I had Italian breadcrumbs, so I used that in place of the cereal. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
This is a great recipe. I chose to leave out the green pepper and the cereal. I used italian bread crumbs instead. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
This recipe is yummy! My boyfriend really loved it and told me to make it again. It was even better the next day! It was different than any other meatloaf I have had and I would definately recommend this recipe. The italian sausage was the key ingredient that made it very flavorful. I would definately recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I have to say my family loved the taste of the sausage in the meatloaf it was different. I found that sweet sausage worked the best and I found a butcher that made italian sweet sausage patties so I didn't have to cut them out of the casings which was a plus. I will definitely make this recipe again. It was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States