Meatloaf that Doesn't Crumble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I tried this recipe and it has a very good flavor, DIDN'T fall apart and makes excellent sandwiches... This is the one that I've been looking for, for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I slightly modified this recipe, and created a 5 star winner! I sauteed the chopped veggies, then quickly pulsed them in the food processor before mixing with other ingredients. Also, cut the sausage to 1/2 lb, only added 1 cup of milk, 1 cup bread crumbs and ommited the catchup. I am not a big meat loaf fan, but this actually changed my mind. It stayed together, and was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Soooooo... I was looking for a meatloaf recipe that would be as "generic" as possible. My husband was craving it and I had never made it. I am Peruvian and my husband is Bahamian and in Peru we do not make meatloaf as part of our day to day menu. Anyway... I picked this recipe as the ingredients sounded like a generic meatloaf, but I made a few changes: I did not have the onion soup so did not put it in, I replaced it by 1/4 cup of men-si (tau-si) sauce (you can find it in Asian foodstores). I added 2 eggs and cut the milk in half. We do not have mild pork sausages here in Peru so I replaced it by Argentinian chorizos. I did not cover it with ketchup before baking it. I left the rest just as it said on the recipe and it turned out delicious. My husband said it was the best meatloaf he has ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miraflores, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I use Ritz or Townhouse original flavor crackers. Here's a nice little tip for the anti-grease crowd. Line the bottom of your loaf pan with bread. (Two pieces usually does it) Place the meatloaf on top and cook per recipe. The bread soaks up the grease and peels off easily, leaving a beautifully moist yet grease free meatloaf! Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I realize I'm in the minority here. The only thing I left out was the green pepper, however I substituted a couple carrots. The pan FILLED with grease which I had to drain out, and then I waited 5 minutes to cut the loaf and it completely crumbled. Maybe I did something wrong but this definately did not work out for me, and due to the overpowering flavor of the sausage, I am not going to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I've only made meatloaf a couple of times many years ago based off a recipe of my grandmother's. I didn't keep the recipe and she has since passed. This came the closest to her recipe that I found. It turned out great and stayed moist and together. I had to alter it to feed 8 picky people however. I used 3 lbs of beef with 1 lb of ground pork sausage. Some weren't fans of onions, so I replaced the raw onions with about 8 baby portabella mushrooms. I also used red and green bell peppers. I mixed some butter crackers with salted crackers. To help with the size, I kept the milk the same but added 2 eggs. I still used just one dry onion soup mix. I waited to add the ketchup until the last 20 minutes. I didn't have sage so I just left it out. I ended up using 2 loaf pans. My husband was in love. He ate it hot on day 1 and ate cold meatloaf sandwiches on day 2. Everyone else ate it, even my 2 year old nephew. I served it with green bean casserole, cheddar and bacon baked potato halves and baked rolls. It was surprisingly quick to prepare and I was ecstatic with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
i'll start by saying i have a favorite meatloaf recipe but was out of eggs, so i found this one as an alternative. i used only ground turkey for the meat, but kept the rest of the recipe the same, minus the green peppers. although i still prefer my original, this helped me out greatly today when i realized i had used the last egg and we had our hearts set on meatloaf. good flavor from the soup mix, i really enjoyed that. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Me and my husband absolutely loved this recipe! This was my second attempt at making meatloaf and it was a success!! I think the only thing i did different was that i grated the onion, bell pepper, and celery. I dont have a food processor, and i dont like to bite into the pieces of vegetables, so i grated them instead. I also used just ground beef, and i think i made more than 2 pounds because it didnt fit in my loaf pan. Luckily i had a larger aluminum one that it fit perfect in. I also had to increase cooking time because mine wasnt done in 1 1/2 hours. This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
excellent!! stayed together and had a wonderful taste. this is now my staple meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This meatloaf was OUTSTANGING. LOVED the flavor. I think the Bell Pepper and celery really added to the exceptional flavor and consistency. I won't go searching for other meatloaf recipes, this one is a keeper. Thanks for sharing. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTrav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States