Meatloaf California Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Sorry. Have to disagree with a lot of reviewers. This was overspiced and way too sweet for us. We live in Tex Mex country and love our spice, but this entire blend of dried herbs thrown in was too overpowering. We will stick with our tried and true recipe that is more tomato and onion based.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
too much pepper? are you crazy?? this is the best meatloaf!! quite tasty. the only change I made is that I reduced the brown sugar to 2 Tablespoons instead of 1/4 cup- the first time I did made it exactly and found it a bit too sweet, last night I made it again but with the reduced amount of brown sugar- and it was perfect! I want to thank you for sharing this recipe!! it is the now the meatloaf by which all other meatloafs will be measured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Well... I ended up making this meatloaf at the last minute and changed quite a bit due to what I had in my kitchen and It was still a hit!!! First off, I doubled the recipe because I had 2.lbs of ground beef, I didn't have any bell pepper or celery, Here are my Substitutions: ~2 eggs for eggbeaters ~1/4 cup soy sauce for 1/4 worcestershire ~Dried basil/parsley/oregano/ for meatload seasoning mix ~garlic powder for garlic salt ADDED: ~1 beef boullion cube 1tbsp of liquid smoke to loaf. For sauce: I also reduced the brown sugar to 2tbsp I also doubled the sauce and glazed twice while baking and was perfect. Because it was a 2.lb loaf I baked at 375 for 1hr 15-30min. It turned out very good and didn't fall apart. I want to try this next time with ground turkey...Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GmniDrm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Edible. Might have given this 3 stars on taste and texture as it was spicy and moist but the presentation was unimpressive - looked like baked dog food and the recipe required a whole lot more prep than the finished product warranted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
it was good but very spicy and the taste of all those dried herbs was overpowering. I won't make it again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Made the meatloaf itself, but without the glaze on top. (Served it with tomato gravy instead) Needed another egg to hold it together better, but had a fabulous flavor that my entire family enjoyed. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Mmmmm, I just finished off the leftovers for lunch. Very good, even my picky daughter liked it. I thought my son would love it but he was upset by the veggies showing so I will chop them smaller in the food processor next time. I also only had one egg and doubled the recipe but loved it even though it fell apart! I did cut the sugar in half and used half yellow mustard instead of all brown just for kid appeal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Best meatloaf I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My husband loved it, but I thought it was overly spiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
The Family loved this meatloaf!!! Amazing! I followed the whole recipe, with just one change from other chefs feedback, I used 2 TBSP brown sugar rather than 1/4 cup. It was a so tasty! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCharlette
Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States