Meatloaf California Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This was really good, my husband loved it and so did the older kids who usually don't like meatloaf. The younger kids didn't like the sauce on the top because they said it was spicey. This was my first successful meatloaf and it turned out great. Like some other reviewers I cut down on a few herbs and used a little less brown sugar, all in a really easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This recipe is excellent! My husband said it was the best meatloaf he's ever had, and couldn't stop eating it! I agree. It is very tasty and moist. And I love the sauce that goes over it. Some things I did different, like another reviewer suggested, I reduced the brown sugar to 2 TBS. perfect. not too sweet at all. Just really flavorful and delicious. Also, another reviewer stated there were too much dried spices involved, and pepper, these I just "eyeballed" to see how much looked right. And it turned out perfect! Just enough spice and herbs so they added flavor but not overpowering. Overall I love this recipe and so glad I found it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This was pretty good. I made only a few changes...yellow onion instead of red, BBQ sauce instead of liquid smoke, no mustard and no pepper. Hearty and filling but not really anything out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Waterford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Great meatloaf recipe. My husband is not a big fan of meatloaf but he really enjoyed this one, stating it was the best meatloaf he had ever tasted. I did cut the ground pepper to one teaspoon in the meatloaf as suggested by other reviewers but I am not sure that it was necessary. I also omitted the mustard in the glaze due to allergies and decreased the brown sugar to 2 tbsp as suggestted by another reviewer. very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
We didn't like this at all! Very "herby" and too much garlic (didn't thing there could be too much but this sure had too much)! We won't be making this again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Sorry. Have to disagree with a lot of reviewers. This was overspiced and way too sweet for us. We live in Tex Mex country and love our spice, but this entire blend of dried herbs thrown in was too overpowering. We will stick with our tried and true recipe that is more tomato and onion based.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Awesome meatloaf. We've never used oats before. We also added some italian bread crumbs since you can never buy a pound of ground beef it seems and its always over. My husband also added a little barbeque sauce with the topping (because he cant leave well enough alone LOL) I tried it with the BBQ sauce and with out and it was both really good. Awesome with the red onions too. I'll definatley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
too much pepper? are you crazy?? this is the best meatloaf!! quite tasty. the only change I made is that I reduced the brown sugar to 2 Tablespoons instead of 1/4 cup- the first time I did made it exactly and found it a bit too sweet, last night I made it again but with the reduced amount of brown sugar- and it was perfect! I want to thank you for sharing this recipe!! it is the now the meatloaf by which all other meatloafs will be measured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Maybe it's a matter of taste, but this recipe has too much black ground pepper in my opinion. 2 teaspoons in the loaf and another 1/2 teaspoon in the topping. It's very peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
The best meatloaf! I've always used my mom's recipe, which is similar, but this one is better. I didn't have celery, so I subbed with red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States