Meatloaf California Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Edible. Might have given this 3 stars on taste and texture as it was spicy and moist but the presentation was unimpressive - looked like baked dog food and the recipe required a whole lot more prep than the finished product warranted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
The oats do not add any flavor, and make the meatloaf mushy. Try substituting club crackers, finely ground. They will also add a slight buttery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Sounded better than it was. I'll keep searching for another meatloaf. Can't put my finger on what was wrong with it. Maybe all the flavors just didn't blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
We thought this was very good, but I too felt that some of the herbs were a little much for only one pound of meat; particularly the oregano and the basil. If I had used fresh herbs, it most likely would have been fine. I cut back on the two even tho I used two pounds of ground turkey. I like a lot of sauce, so I used two cups of catsup and cut back on the sugar being that catsup is pretty sweet on its own. While cooking, I added some chicken broth to the bottom of the dish so that the sauce wouldn't burn. It actually made a really nice gravy after I thickened it with a little cornstarch and water. Served this with a big green salad, mashed potatoes, baby peas and creamed corn. The perfect ending for an unusually chilly, raw and very damp NJ day. Thanks so much ValKaryn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Best meatloaf I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This is probably one of the best meatloaf recipes I've tried. There was a lot of flavor, it was nice and moist, and it was actually sliceable. The only things I did differently was to use an Italian herb seasoning, and regular liquid smoke. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I liked the recipe, but made some changes. I used three different colors of bell peppers for color and presentation. Also, I used bread crumbs instead of oatmeal... and the only herb I used was parsley. I didn't make the sauce for the topping because it seemed entirely too sweet for meatloaf! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyerin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I love the sauce on top of this meatloaf. Mine took WAY longer to cook than was specified (over an hour longer!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was an awesome meatloaf recipe--with a few changes. I agree with many of the cooks in that there was too much spice. I added 1/2 tsp. of oregeno and basil respectively (I didn't have parsley on hand). I also added 1/2 tsp of dry mustard and about a tsp of worcheshire sauce. I used 1 tsp of pepper and garlic salt (instead of powder) I also subsituted bread crumbs for the oats. In terms of veggies, I added 2 cloves of garlic and an orange pepper instead of green (didn't have green on hand). For the sauce, I reduced the brown sugar to 1 tbsp. --that's plenty and I added a few drops of worechesire sauce. I used regular French's mustard and instead of liquid smoke--club house spicy hickory rub/marinade. With these alterations, the meatloaf was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Great recipe! Used teaspoons instead of tablespoons. Used Bread crumbs instead of oat flakes (didn't have any)Very moist and would reccommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States