Meatloaf California Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This meatloaf was different but delicious. I didn't have liquid smoke but I will make it again and add it next time. I also thought the amount of spices was excessive and cut way back. I couldn't imagine biting into something with that amount of dried herbs in it -- or that much black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
it was good but very spicy and the taste of all those dried herbs was overpowering. I won't make it again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
i was looking for something to make with the lb. of ground turkey in our freezer and decided to try it as a substitute for beef in this recipe. the results were very tasty. i'm not a meatloaf fan usually, because my mother's growing up was incredibly bland. this recipe, however, is not! like some said, there are large amounts of dried spices which yield a strong flavor, but i enjoyed it. i was short on time so skipped the homemade brown sugar/ketchup glaze and just poured some stubb's BBQ sauce on top and sprinkled a bit of paprika over that. both my husband and i were pleased with the moist texture and taste. might be too peppery/pungent for my 2 year old, though. we'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burritonut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Mmmmm, I just finished off the leftovers for lunch. Very good, even my picky daughter liked it. I thought my son would love it but he was upset by the veggies showing so I will chop them smaller in the food processor next time. I also only had one egg and doubled the recipe but loved it even though it fell apart! I did cut the sugar in half and used half yellow mustard instead of all brown just for kid appeal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
my husband loved it, not for me though, I like the less sweet traditional loaf. Try this when you are in the mood for something totally different from standard meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
very good! I didn't measure the veggies so not sure if added what was posted but it was great. As for the sauce I didn't make it since I had honey BBQ sauce which was awesome on top! I wanted to get rid of stuff in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
After losing my recipes, I was looking to replace a traditional meatloaf recipe. This isn't quite what I was looking for, but it's delicious and wouldn't go back to "traditional" for anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Absolutely the best meatloaf recipe ever! I substitute the beef for ground turkey and like another reviewer also use a trio of bell peppers. I use far less oregano as it's a personal taste thing but would recommend making the topping as it adds a nice, sweet and smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I used what I had, so I substituted a couple ingredients (bread crumbs for oatmeal, yellow bell pepper instead of celery). I liked the flavor of the meatloaf itself, but I do have to agree that there is too much pepper in the sauce on top. Next time I'll use 1/4 the amount of pepper in the sauce. Mine did turn out a little crumbly as well. But that could be the result of using breadcrumbs instead of the oatmeal. Overall, a good meatloaf, not the best I've had, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Edible. Might have given this 3 stars on taste and texture as it was spicy and moist but the presentation was unimpressive - looked like baked dog food and the recipe required a whole lot more prep than the finished product warranted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States