Meatless Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This recipe was pretty bland... I had high hopes with the visual of the stuffing pre-baked, but nothing exciting once roasted. 2 stars because is wasn't BAD, just needs inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was wonderful stuffed pepper. Reading other reviews, made a few adjustments to the recipe: *Sautéed onions etc with curry powder *Used aburaage tofu (fried pouch tofu) cut in small slivers, for more substantial, crunchy consistency *Boiled the peppers 2 minutes to soften, before filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I think this reciepe lacked bold flavors even though I through in a chile serrano in the stuffing and a couple other spices after reading other comments. :( My bf said he liked them but I think he was just being nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queer bangs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
These were really delicious and very flavorful! I used 2/3c. of cooked barley instead of the rice and added a touch of cumin (1/2 tsp.) along with the other spices in the mushroom / tofu mix. I also used 4 red peppers, cut lengthwise and seeded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I've been making this for years, it's a huge hit at my house. My changes: pretend ground beef in place of tofu; a nutty, wild rice instead of white; and I add some feta. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My family and I did not enjoy this recipe. If I were to make it again I would use a ground meat alternitive. But if you love tofu then go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I too felt this recipe was on the bland side. Thankfully, I added a lot more crushed tomatos than the recipe called for; I couldn't help myself -I had to mix some in with the stuffing. Thank goodness I did -it was the only thing that made the peppers edible. Next time I will go with a traditional tomato/onion/rice type stuffed pepper mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This recipe didn't work. Like other reviewers, I thought the filling was bland and had an unpleasant texture. I added feta on the top before baking but it wasn't much help. The whole thing reminded me and my girlfriend of eating ricotta cheese, but neither of us like ricotta. I think the problem comes from the misuse of tofu. In situations like this, it tends to respond more like a dairy free (and taste free) cheese than as a meat replacer. You could still use it to add protein to the dish, but I might up the amount of rice and decrease the tofu in the mix. I would also add more seasoning of some kind or another. I suspect that using seasoned ground beef in place of tofu would also solve these problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This is great! I'll still make it w/ meat next time, but it was a great adventure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This recipe had a good flavor, but I don't think tofu was the best filling choice. I would probably go with the soy "ground meat" or textured veggie protein next time. The sauce was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States