Meatless Mincemeat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
A very good recipe, so much better than store bought. I suggest tasting the filling before adding the sugar because I felt it was just right without the extra sugar. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
The pie made Gram LTH's 83rd b-day! She said it was just like the mincemeat pie she enjoyed in her childhood. I couldn't bring myself to try it, so I can't speak from my experience, but all of those that ate it said it was great! I followed the recipe to a *t*, as I had no clue what mincemeat pie was supposed to be like! TY for making Gram LTH's bday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Absolutely wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe turned out great. Make sure you do the egg wash on top of the crust. It makes such a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I don't know what mincemeat pie is supposed to taste like - it isn't a dish that was made in my family. But hubby requested that I try one, & I chose this recipe. I used ready-made pie crust, and followed recipe using rum but also mixing in 1/2 cup each golden raisins & sweetened dried cranberries. For the top pie crust, I used a Linzer cookie cutter to make 1 decorative cutout, brushed with milk, & baked. After 30 minutes, we brushed the top crust with beaten egg & dusted with sanding sugar. Pie was lovely & hubby loved it! Obviously, a good recipe with winning results on my first try. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deweyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennedale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great recipe! I had never made mincemeat tarts, but they turned out great for my first time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is sensational! I would never think of putting nuts in a mincemeat pie! Thank you for your inspiration and also for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie styles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oldham, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Great recipe for Mincemeat tarts! The best I've ever eaten by far! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was simple and delicious. The best mincemeat pie ever. My family loved it. The recipe made more than I needed for 1 pie so I used the leftovers and made a country tart and topped the mincemeat with sliced canned pear and that was delicious also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yorkshirepudding

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Actually I don't like mincemeat pie but I made it for my sister and dad who love it. I added a tsp of apple pie spice to it and it went over just great. They said it tastes just like it should. I guess it can depend on the brand of mincemeat you use. I used Crosse & Blackwell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States