Meatless Mincemeat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great recipe! I had never made mincemeat tarts, but they turned out great for my first time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I don't know what mincemeat pie is supposed to taste like - it isn't a dish that was made in my family. But hubby requested that I try one, & I chose this recipe. I used ready-made pie crust, and followed recipe using rum but also mixing in 1/2 cup each golden raisins & sweetened dried cranberries. For the top pie crust, I used a Linzer cookie cutter to make 1 decorative cutout, brushed with milk, & baked. After 30 minutes, we brushed the top crust with beaten egg & dusted with sanding sugar. Pie was lovely & hubby loved it! Obviously, a good recipe with winning results on my first try. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deweyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennedale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
The pie made Gram LTH's 83rd b-day! She said it was just like the mincemeat pie she enjoyed in her childhood. I couldn't bring myself to try it, so I can't speak from my experience, but all of those that ate it said it was great! I followed the recipe to a *t*, as I had no clue what mincemeat pie was supposed to be like! TY for making Gram LTH's bday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is a good recipe for dressing up premade filling. Although I would leave out the sugar, it was too sweet in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe turned out great. Make sure you do the egg wash on top of the crust. It makes such a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
When my sister-in-law asked that I bring a mincemeat pie for Thanksgiving I thought..ewwww! I love to cook and bake, so I was determined not to just purchase pre-made pie filling. I saw this recipe, followed it exactly, added some dried cranberries. It was a hit, I'm sure this will be one of my new requests every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Absolutely wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Thank you, I was looking for the ingredients to the spanish Empanadas and this is them. But, I use pork roast with it. Thank you, again for refreshing my memory. Thank you. Tejani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States