Meatless Mincemeat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I have a deep dish Emile Henry pie pan which makes a BIG pie. I used 2 packages of NoneSuch condensed mincemeat. Reconstituted it in 1/2 cup of brandy and 1 cup of water. Brought it to a boil and then added 2 tbsp lemon juice. Tasted it and decided Marbalet was right about the brown sugar. Added 1/4 cup Splenda's brown sugar blend. Tasted it again and ended up with the 1/2 cup she recommended. Brandy isn't as sweet as Rum! Set it aside to cool. Diced 3 green granny smith apples. Tossed the apples in 3 tbsp flour mixed with 2 tbsp melted butter. Used 1 cup of fresh pecans instead of walnuts since I don't like the bitterness of walnuts (even though they are healthier for you). Pureed the pecans in my Nutrabullet. I meant to chop them but the gadget is so powerful it practically pureed them and that turned out to be a delicious mistake. Mixed the apples and nuts together and put them in a Pillsbury prepared pie shell. Then poured the mincemeat over it. Topped with another Pillsbury pie crust and crimped the edges. Poked a few holes in the top. Brushed 2 egg yolks mixed with 1 tbsp of water over the crust. Served it warm with vanilla ice cream and lemon sauce (Juice from 2 lemons, 1/2 cup powdered sugar and 1 cup water whisked over medium heat for a few minutes). it was a big hit! OOhs and Ahhs from people who said they didn't like Mince Meat pie! Next time I'll refrigerate the mincemeat overnight & try Rum as suggested. The brandy was good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
My mom asked for a mincemeat pie last year for Christmas. I used this recipe as is and she raved about it all year. Guess what she asked for again this year?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Just like I remember from my childhood! I added 1/3 cup of orange peel, brushed the crust with butter and sprinkled w/sugar. The pie was a little over-stuffed, so I might use slightly less filling next time -- eat the rest w/o crust! Thanks for this yummy, hard-to-find recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this for Christmas and everyone loved it, great recipe and easy, like the other reviews..i did not add the suger and it turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
A very good recipe, so much better than store bought. I suggest tasting the filling before adding the sugar because I felt it was just right without the extra sugar. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jhfellows
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
simple to make! Though, the brown sugar made it a little too sweet, overall it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Actually I don't like mincemeat pie but I made it for my sister and dad who love it. I added a tsp of apple pie spice to it and it went over just great. They said it tastes just like it should. I guess it can depend on the brand of mincemeat you use. I used Crosse & Blackwell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was simple and delicious. The best mincemeat pie ever. My family loved it. The recipe made more than I needed for 1 pie so I used the leftovers and made a country tart and topped the mincemeat with sliced canned pear and that was delicious also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yorkshirepudding

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is my first mince pie. I used Nonesuch mincemeat (which isn't meatless!) and cut the sugar in half (and could have omitted it). I figured I'd use my deep dish pie pan so I used 4 small apples and the whole 27 ounce jar of mincemeat. After I'd let it chill overnight I discovered that even with the extra filling it was too little for the deeper pan. I used a regular pie pan and it was fine. I'm not sure how it would have worked with only 18 ounces of mince and 2 apples, though! I also added about 1/4 cup of flour, as the filling had a lot of liquid. It went over surprisingly well. A very tasty pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I think mincemeat is something that you have to be in the mood for. No one else here in my house ever eats mincemeat, so I had this pie all to myself! It was a good winter pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States