Meatless Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
My boyfriend and I enjoy this recipe a lot... we certainly reminisce about meatloafs eaten in our youth! The only thing we don't like about this recipe is the onion soup mix. We find it makes for a very SALTY loaf. Instead, we sautee onions and green peppers before hand and throw them in to bake with the other ingredients. I definitely recommend this recipe for anyone, and it goes well with veggies, potatoes, stuffing, or anything else you can dream up! Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
It's a decent base to start with, but I would omit the onion soup the next time. It was WAAAAAAY to salty for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I have tried other vegetarian meatloaf recipes and the results have ranged disappointing to dreadful. This meatloaf is so good and so simple to make, I'm stunned. It also seems like it's really easy to customize without risking a disastrous outcome. I'm looking forward to experimenting with barbecue sauce, tomatoes, etc. This time (my first), I doubled everything except for the soup mix and it came out great. I held back on the mix based on some other reviews, but I'm not entirely sure it was necessary. I'll probably test different amounts of that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I LOVED it & so did my meat-eating husband! I was shocked at how good it was. The only thing I did differently was I added 1/2 cup+ of water b/c the veggie crumbles that I used are the frozen and didn't quite have the right consistency without the water. I recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I followed Georgia's advice and sauteed onions and bell peppers instead of using soup to cut back on sodium and MSG. This was fantastic as a meat loaf and it's versatile, too. Using a cookie scoop, it also makes wonderful "meat" balls. Just bake them about 20 minutes and they're perfect. I put a couple on a hoagie roll with some marinara and parm and it makes a great meat(less)ball sub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
We thought that this was really good, except, too salty. I should have paid attention to other reviews. The loaf held together good, I used a pkt of (Lipton) onion soup mix and a tablespoon of vegetarian beef boullion in doubling the recipe (all in one pan, it must be pretty scrawny as a single batch.)I used homemade seitan instead of Boca crumbles, a little extra work but we make up a bunch and freeze it in packages of 3/4 pounds. Served this with mashed potatoes and package vege beef gravy and asparagas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brownleg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This recipe was really good! I used Hain's vegetarian gravy mix instead of onion soup (although I would probably use half the mix if you do not like it too salty). I also cooked the Boca crumbles with some sauteed onions and mushrooms, then added the gravy mix and a few tablespoons of water, a teaspoon of sherry, and rosemary, garlic, and thyme. I also used Progresso Italian style breadcrumbs for more flavor. Otherwise I followed the recipe and cooked the loaf for 30 minutes. It was so good... and my veggie-friendly but meat appreciating husband LOVED it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I wish there was 1/2 stars so I could give it 4.5. The only reason it's not a 5 is because it fell apart and I made slight changes. Like the other fantastic reviewers noted, the soup mix would've been too much so I used half a packet. Also used 2 pckgs Smart Ground from the fridge section instead of frozen. I've tried both and neither hold together. Also used sunflower oil instead of veg and added sauteed onion, garlic and grn. pepper instead of powder. Glazed with 3/4 c ketchup, 1tbsp mustard, 1 tsp worsh. sauce, 2tbsp brown sugar. I served on a bed of mashed red potatoes (5 potatoes boiled and mashed, 1/2c mayo, 1/2 c milk, 1 tbsp olive oil and 1 tsp salt) and a side of steamed carrots. Very hearty meal, will definitely make again. I'd love suggestions on how to make it hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Very good recipe although I did follow a few suggestions other users listed and I always double the amount of grillers I use. My boyfriend and I love it! There are Never left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I'm another one of those with a meat-loving husband who didn't believe it wasn't real beef! We thought it was delicious. I agree that the amount of onion soup called for it too much; in fact, I'm just going to use my usual old-fashioned meatloaf recipe in which I put in a can of diced tomatoes. I used a 10 oz. can for a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2manyhobbies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States