Meatless Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Wow!! Jimeezgirl is right, this is the best tasting "meatless loaf" ever!! MY whole family woofed it down like they had'nt eaten in weeks!Thanks jimeezgirl, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I LOVED it & so did my meat-eating husband! I was shocked at how good it was. The only thing I did differently was I added 1/2 cup+ of water b/c the veggie crumbles that I used are the frozen and didn't quite have the right consistency without the water. I recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
My boyfriend and I enjoy this recipe a lot... we certainly reminisce about meatloafs eaten in our youth! The only thing we don't like about this recipe is the onion soup mix. We find it makes for a very SALTY loaf. Instead, we sautee onions and green peppers before hand and throw them in to bake with the other ingredients. I definitely recommend this recipe for anyone, and it goes well with veggies, potatoes, stuffing, or anything else you can dream up! Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This was pretty good...I found it a little dry but I think I cooked it too long. I will try this again and not keep it in so long this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
It's a decent base to start with, but I would omit the onion soup the next time. It was WAAAAAAY to salty for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This recipe was really good! I used Hain's vegetarian gravy mix instead of onion soup (although I would probably use half the mix if you do not like it too salty). I also cooked the Boca crumbles with some sauteed onions and mushrooms, then added the gravy mix and a few tablespoons of water, a teaspoon of sherry, and rosemary, garlic, and thyme. I also used Progresso Italian style breadcrumbs for more flavor. Otherwise I followed the recipe and cooked the loaf for 30 minutes. It was so good... and my veggie-friendly but meat appreciating husband LOVED it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
We loved this!! Added some ketchup and worchishire. Also glazed with extra ketchup and brown sugar (about 1/4c of each). Will definately be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
We thought that this was really good, except, too salty. I should have paid attention to other reviews. The loaf held together good, I used a pkt of (Lipton) onion soup mix and a tablespoon of vegetarian beef boullion in doubling the recipe (all in one pan, it must be pretty scrawny as a single batch.)I used homemade seitan instead of Boca crumbles, a little extra work but we make up a bunch and freeze it in packages of 3/4 pounds. Served this with mashed potatoes and package vege beef gravy and asparagas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brownleg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was a really good base. My boyfriend and I added finally chopped carrots, celary, red pepper, onions and garlic to the ground feef (fake beef) all in a big skillet, added some generic all herb seasoning, the skillet was big enough to mix the bread crumbs and oil/egg in with later. We also added the ketchup, brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce, sauce to the top and it cooked up really nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Pretty plain tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States