Meatless Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I have tried other vegetarian meatloaf recipes and the results have ranged disappointing to dreadful. This meatloaf is so good and so simple to make, I'm stunned. It also seems like it's really easy to customize without risking a disastrous outcome. I'm looking forward to experimenting with barbecue sauce, tomatoes, etc. This time (my first), I doubled everything except for the soup mix and it came out great. I held back on the mix based on some other reviews, but I'm not entirely sure it was necessary. I'll probably test different amounts of that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Very good recipe although I did follow a few suggestions other users listed and I always double the amount of grillers I use. My boyfriend and I love it! There are Never left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I'm another one of those with a meat-loving husband who didn't believe it wasn't real beef! We thought it was delicious. I agree that the amount of onion soup called for it too much; in fact, I'm just going to use my usual old-fashioned meatloaf recipe in which I put in a can of diced tomatoes. I used a 10 oz. can for a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2manyhobbies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Pretty plain tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was a really good base. My boyfriend and I added finally chopped carrots, celary, red pepper, onions and garlic to the ground feef (fake beef) all in a big skillet, added some generic all herb seasoning, the skillet was big enough to mix the bread crumbs and oil/egg in with later. We also added the ketchup, brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce, sauce to the top and it cooked up really nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
We thought that this was really good, except, too salty. I should have paid attention to other reviews. The loaf held together good, I used a pkt of (Lipton) onion soup mix and a tablespoon of vegetarian beef boullion in doubling the recipe (all in one pan, it must be pretty scrawny as a single batch.)I used homemade seitan instead of Boca crumbles, a little extra work but we make up a bunch and freeze it in packages of 3/4 pounds. Served this with mashed potatoes and package vege beef gravy and asparagas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brownleg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
We loved this!! Added some ketchup and worchishire. Also glazed with extra ketchup and brown sugar (about 1/4c of each). Will definately be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This recipe was really good! I used Hain's vegetarian gravy mix instead of onion soup (although I would probably use half the mix if you do not like it too salty). I also cooked the Boca crumbles with some sauteed onions and mushrooms, then added the gravy mix and a few tablespoons of water, a teaspoon of sherry, and rosemary, garlic, and thyme. I also used Progresso Italian style breadcrumbs for more flavor. Otherwise I followed the recipe and cooked the loaf for 30 minutes. It was so good... and my veggie-friendly but meat appreciating husband LOVED it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
It's a decent base to start with, but I would omit the onion soup the next time. It was WAAAAAAY to salty for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This was pretty good...I found it a little dry but I think I cooked it too long. I will try this again and not keep it in so long this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States