Meatless Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I LOVED it & so did my meat-eating husband! I was shocked at how good it was. The only thing I did differently was I added 1/2 cup+ of water b/c the veggie crumbles that I used are the frozen and didn't quite have the right consistency without the water. I recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Easy, quick and delicious! I didn't use soup mix, instead sauted onion, garlic, basil, oregano and parsley and also added a couple tablespoons of steak sauce. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKETMOMKD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
As a vegetarian, I am always looking for new meatless recipes. I have tried several meatless loafs on this site and they were okay but this is by far the best! I did leave out the onion mix and added a ketchup glaze with prepared mustard and a little brown sugar. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I loved this recipe! I used the can of Rotel and added chopped celery and onions per others suggestions. I also used the frozen crumbles which others had said came out dry, but with the addition of the Rotel found it to be a tad too moist for my tastes. Next time I'll try it with TVP and a little less of the liquid from the can. I'll also double the recipe b/c it didn't come close to filling up my loaf pan. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Wow!! Jimeezgirl is right, this is the best tasting "meatless loaf" ever!! MY whole family woofed it down like they had'nt eaten in weeks!Thanks jimeezgirl, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This recipe was really good! I used Hain's vegetarian gravy mix instead of onion soup (although I would probably use half the mix if you do not like it too salty). I also cooked the Boca crumbles with some sauteed onions and mushrooms, then added the gravy mix and a few tablespoons of water, a teaspoon of sherry, and rosemary, garlic, and thyme. I also used Progresso Italian style breadcrumbs for more flavor. Otherwise I followed the recipe and cooked the loaf for 30 minutes. It was so good... and my veggie-friendly but meat appreciating husband LOVED it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
We loved this!! Added some ketchup and worchishire. Also glazed with extra ketchup and brown sugar (about 1/4c of each). Will definately be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I'm another one of those with a meat-loving husband who didn't believe it wasn't real beef! We thought it was delicious. I agree that the amount of onion soup called for it too much; in fact, I'm just going to use my usual old-fashioned meatloaf recipe in which I put in a can of diced tomatoes. I used a 10 oz. can for a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2manyhobbies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I have tried other vegetarian meatloaf recipes and the results have ranged disappointing to dreadful. This meatloaf is so good and so simple to make, I'm stunned. It also seems like it's really easy to customize without risking a disastrous outcome. I'm looking forward to experimenting with barbecue sauce, tomatoes, etc. This time (my first), I doubled everything except for the soup mix and it came out great. I held back on the mix based on some other reviews, but I'm not entirely sure it was necessary. I'll probably test different amounts of that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I used egg re-placer (wet) in this recipe and it turned out completely vegan! Oh, the soup mix (I used a vegan gravy mix instead)! I will try adding some veges in it the next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States