Meatless Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Excellent! I didn't add the onion soup mix, but did the peppers and added dried minced onion. I also did mine in the muffin pan a la meatballs. I served them over a half of a baked potato. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I wish there was 1/2 stars so I could give it 4.5. The only reason it's not a 5 is because it fell apart and I made slight changes. Like the other fantastic reviewers noted, the soup mix would've been too much so I used half a packet. Also used 2 pckgs Smart Ground from the fridge section instead of frozen. I've tried both and neither hold together. Also used sunflower oil instead of veg and added sauteed onion, garlic and grn. pepper instead of powder. Glazed with 3/4 c ketchup, 1tbsp mustard, 1 tsp worsh. sauce, 2tbsp brown sugar. I served on a bed of mashed red potatoes (5 potatoes boiled and mashed, 1/2c mayo, 1/2 c milk, 1 tbsp olive oil and 1 tsp salt) and a side of steamed carrots. Very hearty meal, will definitely make again. I'd love suggestions on how to make it hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I loved this recipe! I used the can of Rotel and added chopped celery and onions per others suggestions. I also used the frozen crumbles which others had said came out dry, but with the addition of the Rotel found it to be a tad too moist for my tastes. Next time I'll try it with TVP and a little less of the liquid from the can. I'll also double the recipe b/c it didn't come close to filling up my loaf pan. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
As a vegetarian, I am always looking for new meatless recipes. I have tried several meatless loafs on this site and they were okay but this is by far the best! I did leave out the onion mix and added a ketchup glaze with prepared mustard and a little brown sugar. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Reitman Gale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Easy, quick and delicious! I didn't use soup mix, instead sauted onion, garlic, basil, oregano and parsley and also added a couple tablespoons of steak sauce. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Ruppenstein Dunegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I tried this recipe and really liked it...as did my meat-eating mother. I followed the advice of some of the others and only used half the packet of soup mix to cut down on the salt. Very easy to prepare. Only problem is that it was a little dry. Probably should have followed the other advice and added more water to my frozen veggie crumbles. Overall, it was a good recipe and I would recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I followed Georgia's advice and sauteed onions and bell peppers instead of using soup to cut back on sodium and MSG. This was fantastic as a meat loaf and it's versatile, too. Using a cookie scoop, it also makes wonderful "meat" balls. Just bake them about 20 minutes and they're perfect. I put a couple on a hoagie roll with some marinara and parm and it makes a great meat(less)ball sub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I used egg re-placer (wet) in this recipe and it turned out completely vegan! Oh, the soup mix (I used a vegan gravy mix instead)! I will try adding some veges in it the next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe was just okay for me. As another reviewer stated it was much too salty since both the veggie crumbles and soup mix contain lots of salt. I prefer using the Cottage Cheese Loaf recipe on this site instead and my husband agreed. I did bake some carrots and other veggies while this baked to make my meal easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This loaf has an excellent flavor but was way too salty with the dry soup mix. Next time I'll use 1/2 pkg. and it should be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States