Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I followed other reviewer's suggestions and added some corn. My family doesn't like spicy foods, so I cut the amount of chili powder by 2/3 and added 2 tsp of smoked paprika. I'm making it for the second time in a month and am using "beef" crumbles instead of tofu, which I used last time. Also, I find it tastes better next day, or even a week after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, but cut it in half as the original quantities make a huge batch. It was delicious with just the right amount of spice without being too hot. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Petruzzelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I really liked this chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
WELL,ITS IN THE CROCK POT NOW.I USED ALL THE VEGGIES CALLED FOR EXCEPT,ONLY 1 28OZ CAN OF KIDNEY BEANS. I WAS GOING TO ADD I SMALL CAN OF BLACK BEANS BUT DIDN'T HAVE ANY MORE ROOM IN MY 6 QT CROCK POT.I SPICED IT UP WITH,1T. OF CHIPOTE CHILI POWDER,5T OF REGULAR CHILI POWDER, AND ONE OF SMOKED PAPRIKA.I DID USE,AS ONE REVIEWER MENTIONED 1T OF BRN SUGAR WITH MY 1T RICE VINEGAR. I JUST TASTED IT BEFORE IT EVEN STARTED TO COOK AND WOW, THE FLAVOR!!! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I go back to this recipe again and again. The only things I change are the chili powder to taste, and the bean mixture. Instead of 4 cans black beans, I do 2 cans black, 1 can red kidney, and 1 can corn. I also do only 2-3 peppers. If I want the tofu to have texture, I cook it separately, but I usually cook it all together with the pepper mixture and it turns out fine. As is, the recipe is 5 stars; I just made adjustments to suit my preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I don't like cooking but this was worth it :-) Delicious. Used extra firm tofu which worked great. Definitely will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I've made this a couple of times now and absolutely love it. Everyone who has shared it with us is amazed at how tasty and how much it doesn't seem like a vegetarian meal. Only comment I have is that the first step will never take ten minutes, if you do it right. There's way too much water in the onions, veggies, and tofu to be able soften onions, combine others, and then brown. Always takes me at least a half-hour to do it right. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I used 1 1/2 C TVP and kidney beans. I added chili powder to taste. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Add two jalapeños to take it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States