Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
this recipe was really tasty! i cut back on the chili powder a bit to suit our tastes. the only problem i had was that it got a bit soupy by the end of cook time - so i added about 1 cup of cornstarch to thicken it up and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Very Good. I used pinto and kidney instead of black and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
My family loved this recipe! I used YVES ground tofu instead of the package firm tofu and also added one hot jalapeno. WOW..EXCELLENT DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Absolutely delicious - REALLY spicy, the mention of guacamole and sour cream is not really a suggestion. The chili had a great full body and did not seem too watery. A couple minor changes/substitutions I made - 1/2 less onion, 1/2 T of red pepper powder instead of Tabasco (I was out), 1 can of kidney beans instead of black beans (again, I was out). Even my carnivorous fiancee approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
My kids even liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This recipe was very satisfactory to all of my guests, even though I was the only vegetarian present. I didn't attempt to "fool" my guests (this is so cruel), but prepared them ahead of time I was preparing a vegetarian chili. They really enjoyed the spicy flavor. I served the chili with vegan cheese and a tofu sour cream, fresh coleslaw (prepared with veganaise), and homemade rolls. My non-vegan family and friends truly enjoyed this animal-friendly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Dixmont, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was REALLY, REALLY good. Out of necessity I did a substitution on the beans, but I don't think it made much difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This is the best chili I've ever had. As a recently new vegetarian I was surprised as the tofu tastes just like meat! You'd never miss the meat. My carnivorous boyfriend loved it. I halved the recipe and it easily could of fed 6, so it makes A LOT! I'm not the biggest chili fan but I never thought to serve it with nachos, guacumoule, sour cream and cheese, a la Mexican style. Great idea and I'll totally make this one regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was really good; the chili flavor was like a meaty chili and not predominantly vegetable flavored as some veggie chilis are. The red bell pepper was particularly good. I added the tofu as it said but I think in the future I'd try soy burger. Even in the slow cooker all day the tofu just didn't taste like much. Also, I used half the onion it said and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This recipe was flavourful and so tasty. I liked the combination of the different spices. I nixed the tofu and added a can of chickpeas and corn - it added a very good texture to the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States