Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This recipe is an excellent chili all on its own but can also be used as a base to do some personalizing. I made it with morningstar crumbles instead of the tofu. We also like our chili with chunks of tomatoes so I added to 15oz cans of diced tomatoes with the juice (which makes it go further and balances out the thickness the crumbles add to it). if you want it with more (like my hubbie) cut the chili powder in half and add a mccormick HOT chili spice packet. I've even made it with 1 cup of guinness stout and it gives it a great depth of flavor (turn the veggies up to a high head at the end of cooking them, add the guiness & cook for a few minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama_adams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
awesome! i substituted the tofu for smart ground and the carnivores never new the difference. i also did half black, half kidney beans for some texture...yum! i've used the leftovers over egg whites for a hearty breakfast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Best chili I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Not at all what I expected from all the hype. Definitely decent chili, but 5 stars? No. I followed the recipe exactly, but I was not very impressed. Sure, it was spicy. But flavorless. 3 stars though! Better than most!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was a great recipe. I took it to a family reunion with the intention of having something vegetarian for myself and everyone (even the meat eaters) loved it! I used a variety of different beans, left out the tofu, added mushrooms and added 2 tbsp of brown sugar to cut the spiciness a little because I wanted the older family members and kids to be able to enjoy it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great chile, my husband and I were both very impressed. The only thing I might do differently is to saute the tofu separately because with so many things in the pot at the end, they could not be "lightly browned" as the recipe said. However, it might not make a difference and we liked the tofu in it regardless. Otherwise, I don't think I will make any huge modifications to this recipe in the future, but I will make it again. An amazing vegetarian option that does not sacrifice any flavor when the meat is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I was skeptical about this, but it turned out really good. I didn't have cumin, so I left that out. I was also out of canned tomatoes, so I put fresh Romas in a food processor. I think next time I make this, I will crumble the tofu. I didn't really like the cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
awesome, awesome, awesome! i substituted smart ground veggie protein crumbles for the tofu, and was amazed at how very good this was. it will become a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Great recipe. Made it for pot luck and it was a huge hit. I couldn't tell the difference between this and chili made with ground beef. Ratios of beans to peppers to tomato was perfect. Used 4 cans of beans as called for but mixed them up (black, red kidney, pinto, great northern). Thought it needed to be kicked up with seasoning so added a minced jalapeno, an extra teaspoon cumin, and a tablespoon of italian seasoning. Used a very spicy habanero sauce for the hot sauce, and added a dash at a time, retasting every hour until right amount of heat. Also used that fake soy ground beef stuff instead of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This recipe was delicious! I'm trying to be healthier, and it is a great option and you can play around with it to your heart's content. Myself, I added a can of sweet corn, garbanzo beans, and substituted seitan for the firm tofu-- I find it has a firmer, more "meaty" texture. I also added about a teaspoon of brown sugar to cancel out the acidity, which I think really added a lot. I halved this recipe and it still was a LOT of food... probably at least 4-6 servings. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States