Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I was skeptical about this, but it turned out really good. I didn't have cumin, so I left that out. I was also out of canned tomatoes, so I put fresh Romas in a food processor. I think next time I make this, I will crumble the tofu. I didn't really like the cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
awesome, awesome, awesome! i substituted smart ground veggie protein crumbles for the tofu, and was amazed at how very good this was. it will become a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Great recipe. Made it for pot luck and it was a huge hit. I couldn't tell the difference between this and chili made with ground beef. Ratios of beans to peppers to tomato was perfect. Used 4 cans of beans as called for but mixed them up (black, red kidney, pinto, great northern). Thought it needed to be kicked up with seasoning so added a minced jalapeno, an extra teaspoon cumin, and a tablespoon of italian seasoning. Used a very spicy habanero sauce for the hot sauce, and added a dash at a time, retasting every hour until right amount of heat. Also used that fake soy ground beef stuff instead of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This recipe was delicious! I'm trying to be healthier, and it is a great option and you can play around with it to your heart's content. Myself, I added a can of sweet corn, garbanzo beans, and substituted seitan for the firm tofu-- I find it has a firmer, more "meaty" texture. I also added about a teaspoon of brown sugar to cancel out the acidity, which I think really added a lot. I halved this recipe and it still was a LOT of food... probably at least 4-6 servings. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I'm eating the leftovers of this as I write this. (It's even better the next day!!) I made several modifications, but it's a great base recipe to customize to your own liking. Here's what I did: -Cut the recipe by half so it wouldn't overflow my slow cooker -Used 1 can black, 1 can garbanzo, 1 can vegetarian baked beans -Omitted the tofu -Used garlic "powder" instead of cloves -Omitted oregano b/c I didn't have any -Added 6 oz of Shock Top beer -I was going to put in the veggies without sauteeing, but at the last minute I decided to sautee b/c I feel like it enhances the flavor With the baked beans and beer, mine has a slightly sweeter edge to it, which I personally love. Spicy and sweet! The author of this recipe is right, it really is "meaty" and SO EASY! It turned out looking almost identical to the pic. Inexperienced cooks, try this one without fear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This has been my go-to chili for about two years. I LOVE it. Tons of veggies and protein, but pretty low in fat/calories. The only revision I made is cutting the oil down to about 1 tbs. It works just as well! I've reviewed it at my blog: http://therecreationalgourmet.com/content/recipe-review-meatiest-vegetarian-chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by therecreationalgourmet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
A wonderful balance of flavors that pleased my mix of meat and non-meat eaters. I was worried about the size of my slow cooker but everything just fit into my 6QT crock. Like a few others I used veggie crumbles rather than tofu. I was worried they would disintegrate over 6 hours of cooking so I added them in the last hour and they maintained they're ground beefy texture. This is not a spicy chili but those who wanted to crank up the heat could easily add cayenne. Bravo, Simone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
so good my boyfriend wouldn't share. i don't like chili but this was awesome due to the mexican flair. easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corinne
Home Town: Seymour, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I make this all the time. Easy and taste great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
My husband is a vegetarian who doesn't like a lot of vegetables, so as you can imagine cooking for him is a nightmare. He absolutely LOVED this chili! Using black beans instead of kidney beans was a delightful taste and texture. I will forwarn you about one thing while preparing the onion/pepper saute': If you don't have an EXTRA large skillet (assuming you're cooking the entire 8 servings), it will become an absolute mess and the veggies won't brown. I ended up having to take the mixture and transfer half of it to another large skillet in order for it to brown. That aside, it was easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States