Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe is delicious. I used a mix of black beans and kidney beans. I also used Heinz Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes and Yves Meatless Ground for tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Delicious! I made this recipe for my monthly cooking club when we had a tofu theme. Very hearty, and had a nice smokey flavor without being too spicy. Every last drop was eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is my "go to" recipe whenever I make my chili. I made adjustments according to my mood and ingredients on hand. Usually i use diced tomatoes and use another type of bean instead of all black bean. I have even out corn in. Yummy. I made this for a chili party and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiesp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Just delicious, and very thick, two things I much appreciate as a vegetarian. I always skip the added salt, use low-sodium black beans, and add a chopped jalapeno to spice it up even more. I also use tofu crumbles instead of having to cut up the tofu cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newsmyrnab
Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
After following the recipe, my 5 year old (our chili conessieur) insisted that it needed some cinnamon. We added some, and she was absolutely right. Everyone enjoyed this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was pretty good! I do like tofu so it was not a stretch for me to try this one...I also added some zucchini that I froze from the summer to amp up the veg factor in the dish amd make it a bit more hearty...otherwise it was just pepperrs and onions. I thought the spices were pretty much right on and it was a very flavorful chili and if you dont eat tofu....you would never know by taste since tofu takes on whatever the flavors are. Good healthy chili and so easy since its a crockpot meal! I didnt sautee the peppers and onions first....jsut dumped everything in the crockpot. I also used dark red kidney beans instead of black. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was so good! I used TVP instead of tofu and diced tomatoes with chilis instead of crushed since its what I had in the pantry. Served over fresh corn and quinoa it was SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was GREAT! I was planning on making another tofu dish but realized I didn't have one crucial ingredient at the last moment. Taking inventory of the things I DID have, plus a quick ingredient search, resulted in making this recipe. So poor planning on my part led to a great discovery of this chili! Since I hadn't planned on making it, I didn't have time for the slow cooker, but let it simmer for about an hour and it was great. I used kidney and pinto beans (due to pantry contents) and orange pepper instead of red (due to fridge contents.) I halved the recipe (just the hubs and me) and it was plenty for us and some leftovers. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
WoW! Awesome tasting recipe! I added 1/4 cup red wine at the beginning. Seemed to work.This Filled a 6 quart pot so half the ingredients in a smaller one. Put corn chips in a bowl, ladel this on top, shredded cheese on top of that, then have sour cream and guac on the side with it...yep this recipes a KEEPER thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I have tried dozens of vegetarian chili and this is by far my favorite. I substitute 2 of the 4 cans of black beans with black beans in a cumin chili type sauce. I use 2 cans of diced tomatoes with (hot) green chilies instead of crushed tomatoes for extra zip. I also use one less onion and pepper and substitute the tofu with soy burger crumbles. Delicious! And plenty of leftover's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltomczak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States