Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
A wonderful balance of flavors that pleased my mix of meat and non-meat eaters. I was worried about the size of my slow cooker but everything just fit into my 6QT crock. Like a few others I used veggie crumbles rather than tofu. I was worried they would disintegrate over 6 hours of cooking so I added them in the last hour and they maintained they're ground beefy texture. This is not a spicy chili but those who wanted to crank up the heat could easily add cayenne. Bravo, Simone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
so good my boyfriend wouldn't share. i don't like chili but this was awesome due to the mexican flair. easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corinne
Home Town: Seymour, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I make this all the time. Easy and taste great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
My husband is a vegetarian who doesn't like a lot of vegetables, so as you can imagine cooking for him is a nightmare. He absolutely LOVED this chili! Using black beans instead of kidney beans was a delightful taste and texture. I will forwarn you about one thing while preparing the onion/pepper saute': If you don't have an EXTRA large skillet (assuming you're cooking the entire 8 servings), it will become an absolute mess and the veggies won't brown. I ended up having to take the mixture and transfer half of it to another large skillet in order for it to brown. That aside, it was easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
We made this recipe exactly as it is written and most of the family really liked it. However, I agree that it had too much seasoning, which took away from the flavors of all the other ingredients. Next time I will try and remove a few things, but overall this was a good recipe- especially for how wonderfully healthy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Best Chili -even my carnivore hubby loved it and begged for more! Halfed the chili powder and nixed the hot sauce for my delicately paleted family. Also used tvp and one less can of beans and it was rockin:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Rothrum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My daughter has been loving this recipe for two years now (she's 10 now). At school she is known as the "chili" girl. The main thing is that she will not eat it unless it has meat. So I used this recipe with the following changes: 1/4 onion, 1/2 red pepper, 1/2 yellow pepper, 1 to 1 1/2 lbs of ground meat of your choice, garlic salt instead of regular salt, 3 tbs of chili powder (she doesn't like it spicy) and no hot sauce. Follow the instructions for cooking in the slow cooker. I freeze portions in freezer bags. She says that it taste better after freezing. Maybe flavor fusion? She will take this chili over a sandwich any day! I'll keep the original version for my hubby;) Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was amazing! The only thing I did differently was use Yves Veggie Ground Round in place of the tofu, and added celery and mushrooms (because I love them!) My meat loving father raved about it and probably wouldn't have even known it was veggie if I didn't tell him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Yummy! Had to make this less-spicy for my 10-year-old vegetarian daughter & it was still great. Might have to split it next time & make one hot & one not. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. We all love it in my house & have shared it with family and friends. I always get requests for it when it is my turn to cook at my work's "Lunch Club." However, it is far too hot for most of us w/ all 6 tablespoons of chili powder and the Tabasco. I just halve that during the prep and put out the Tabasco (along with the sour cream and shredded cheddar) when serving for those that like it spicier. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States