Meatballs and Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I made this for a get together and it was well liked- but I made the following changes: after reading other reviews I used only about 3/4 bag of meatballs & did need 2 cans of soup, had only about 6hrs to marinate and only about 1 3/4 cup sour cream. I decided it needed just a bit of pizaaz so added sev good dashes of Worchestershire plus some horseradish and a good sprinkle of Tony C's Cajun seasoning & it really was very good. Will make again but am thinking of trying 1 cream of onion & 1 of mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This is dinner! I sauteed 8oz sliced mushrooms and a chopped onion in 1T olive oil, then mixed everything together in the crockpot (added 1/4c of white wine too). Only used 2 lbs of meatballs, so we had plenty of sauce to serve over egg noodles. Yes, I made a lot of changes, but it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was a great recipe. I needed a quick fix for dinner so I didn't have the time for the meatballs to savor overnight but I cooked browned frozen meatballs in EVOO and added mushrooms and onions, stirred in the mushroom soup, water and sour cream and let it simmer for 30 mins. Yummy! Thx for the idea. The whole fam loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2000
I got rave reviews from my co-workers when I took this recipe to work for a potluck. Two suggestions, though. 5 lbs. is really too many, it could be cut to 3/4 or a half of the bag. Also, the meatballs ended up pretty salty. If you made your own, they would probably not be so salty. They were VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
One of the best meatball recipe I have ever tasted. And, it was so easy to make. My guest raved over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I made these for our superbowl party. Very easy, no fuss at all! I took a previous reviewers advice and only used 3 lbs. of meatballs. They were a bit hit, a nice change from the more common tomato-based sauces. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Great Recipe! I made it for Christmas Dinner, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I’ve never had as many people ask for a recipe as people did for these meatballs. I sautéed an onion and added that, plus used 2 cans of soup, rather than one. Mish is right, they are sort-of stinky until they’re cooked, but they make up for the initial smell in the end :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Following DATGIRL55's suggestions (can of cream of mushroom and cream of chicken, 1 cup sour cream, 1 pkg cream cheese, couple tsp Minced Garlic, crushed red pepper flakes, Worcestershire sauce, and just a tiny bit of milk to thin), I thought these were a WELCOMED change from the standard BQ meatballs. Will be making these again!!! (Although, I might use a bit less than a full can of Cream Of Chicken)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This can be just as delicious as a quick last minute recipe! I took the advice of another cook and I sauteed onions in evoo then added (previousely frozen) baked meatballs as I warmend the sauce in a big pot for later...to the sauce I added white wine, s&p and stired. I poured the meatballs in the sauce, mixed it up and later added 1 tbls of cornstarch to thicken. Poured the meatballs over some pasta and got rave reviews! I had 3 servings myself...delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States