Meatballs and Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2000
I got rave reviews from my co-workers when I took this recipe to work for a potluck. Two suggestions, though. 5 lbs. is really too many, it could be cut to 3/4 or a half of the bag. Also, the meatballs ended up pretty salty. If you made your own, they would probably not be so salty. They were VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
I'm vegetarian but from what everyone at the party said - they were really good! They take about 5 minutes to throw together then just put them in a slow cooker before the party. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Great Recipe! I made it for Christmas Dinner, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
These meatballs were excellent! I followed the directions exactly, except I threw in about a bulb of chopped up garlic. Put it all together the night before in a crock pot and plugged it in the next day. Everyone loved having something different than the usual chili sauce meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I did not care for these at all...plus they didn't look very appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I made these for our superbowl party. Very easy, no fuss at all! I took a previous reviewers advice and only used 3 lbs. of meatballs. They were a bit hit, a nice change from the more common tomato-based sauces. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I served this for a birthday party and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I made these for a Thanksgiving appetizer. A few people were hesitant to try because they don't look that appetizing but once a couple of brave souls tried and RAVED about them everyone was going for a taste. My husband asked me to make them for dinner one night soon which happens to be tonight! Only thing I did differently was that I made my own swedish meatballs so that they were small. I made them the night before and put them in the the fridge with other ingredients like suggested! Also I only made about 2 1/2 lbs of meatballs because they were smaller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ETOTARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I made this for a get together and it was well liked- but I made the following changes: after reading other reviews I used only about 3/4 bag of meatballs & did need 2 cans of soup, had only about 6hrs to marinate and only about 1 3/4 cup sour cream. I decided it needed just a bit of pizaaz so added sev good dashes of Worchestershire plus some horseradish and a good sprinkle of Tony C's Cajun seasoning & it really was very good. Will make again but am thinking of trying 1 cream of onion & 1 of mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I made this for a baby shower. It was super fast and easy and the shower guests LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States