Meatball and Pasta Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Ok I have to admit that I changed this recipe a lot because I couldn't decide on this one or an italian wedding soup recipe so I sort of combined the 2, however I am giving this a five BECAUSE these meatballs are to die for!! The only thing I changed on the meatballs was that I used unseasoned bread crumbs because that is all I had and therefore, I added a teaspoon of italian seasoning and cut the parsley down to 1 tablespoon because I added the italian seasoning but again, that was only because I didn't have seasoned bread crumbs. The rest of my changes are as follows and mainly just so I have a note of what I did. I baked the meatballs at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. I left out the carrot because we are not big fans. I split the 7 cups of broth by using half chicken and half beef. I brought that to a boil and added a bunch of Kale and simmered for 15 minutes. I then added 1/2 cup of small pasta (like pastina) and let that simmer for 5 minutes. I then put in the meatballs and simmered another 15 minutes. We thoroughly enjoyed this soup. Next time I will add a little more broth to accommodate the Kale but in all fairness the meatballs were the star of the dish. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Everyone likes it, but I think I'm making a few changes next time. Add 4TBS tomato paste instead of 2, use half the onions in the soup, and simmer 40min instead of 30 since the veggies were still a bit crisp, and add a bay leaf to the pot. I used a pound each of the sausage and hamburger, doubled the rest of the ingredients, then used a third of it and put the other 2 portions in the freezer for easy meatballs in other dishes later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very good hearty soup recipe.......made using loose ground beef instead of meatballs and 1 can crushed tomatoes in place of paste and chopped tomatoes....very tasty...spice to your own preferences.........salad and crusty bread is all you need for a well balanced meal........great on a snowy day in New England like it is today !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this recipe but did not make meatballs (was working with frozen hamburger) so I just browned hamburger, added carrots and zucchini, and finished with parm. Was so good! We loved it. So good with fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
husband gives it 5 stars. I crushed ceasar croutons for bread crumbs. I also baked the meatballs at 350 for 30 minutes before putting in red sauce. If you bake rotate balls 15 minutes. I did not make the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Great! Used just 1 lb of ground turkey and the meatballs turned out great! Also used about 2-3 cups of beef stock and the rest chicken as that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
GREAT meatballs! Put them in the oven at 350 for about 15-20 minutes instead of frying them. Also used turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
very good, i did do some adjustments though, we used rotel tomatoes and i put a tsp of oregano and 1 of italian seasoning as well...one other thing i did was i cooked the meatballs by boiling them, i do not like fried meatballs, boiled ones seem mopre temder to me then tough when fried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wormosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very good soup. I omitted the tomato paste and store canned tomatoes, using 1 pint of home canned tomatoes. Used hot Italian sausage (Roma). Initially I was doubling the recipe, but when I tired of making the meatballs, I just mixed the sauteed carrots, celery, and onions with the remaining meatball mixture, formed it into a loaf and we had a wonderful meatloaf supper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hydes, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEREEB
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
very good ....only thing i did differently was I added zucchini....thanks for sharing YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEREEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States