Meatball Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Here is the solution to keep your meatballs from falling apart: place the raw meatballs on a 9 x 11 baking pan and bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes. When cool, I place them in a colander and rinse (yes, I rinse them) with hot water. This drains the grease so you don't have any "swimming" on top of the sauce. Then I add them to the sauce and simmer for an hour. The meatballs came out wonderful!! I did not use any onions nor water and used tomato sauce instead of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I only used the meatball recipe since I already have a spaghetti sauce recipe. Thank you so AgentLucy for her suggestions for how to cook the meatballs; it saved me a lot of trouble. I used 3/4 cup breadcrumbs & 1/4 cup parmesan cheese. I only used a splash of milk so they wouldn't be too dry. I also used 1 tsp italian seasoning instead of parsley. Using all the milk would have been a disaster! I baked them, rinsed them off & added them to my sauce & simmered for 30 min. They held up great in the sauce; didn't fall apart at all. Worked out wonderfully-my first attempt at meatballs was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I only made the meatballs and they were great! However, I didn't add the milk and I added crushed red pepper, italian seasoning, fennel seed, and little olive oil. I also cooked them in a skillet for a couple of minutes all over just to keep them from falling apart in the marinara sauce that I cooked them with. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
The meatballs were great! I sautéed the meatballs in olive oil before adding to my sauce (I only made the meatballs from the recipe and combined it with my own sauce) because I saw the previous reviews stating they had a tendency to fall apart. I first made them for my husband (who loved them) and then later at a Labor day cookout and I over heard one of my guest state the sauce and meatballs tasted like his mother used to make. This is a staple that I will keep in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Like most reviewers, I only made the meatballs - AgentLucy style. Added in Penzey's Pasta Sprinkle and LOTS more of the recommended spices. (Shorted the milk, as well - didn't measure, just splashed it in) Also, tossed in a bit of Parmesan Cheese into the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is THE best recipe for spaghetti and meatballs I have ever found. My daughter loved it and she HATES spaghetti. Thanks so much for submitting it France :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
The meatballs were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
Personally I thought this lacked flavor and the meatballs were mushy. The sauce was not thick and I will never make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I only made the meatballs, using one large onion, and my family and I thought they were great. I also used about 2tsp dried garlic instead of fresh galic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
My daughter LOVED these meatballs..and she's a tough critic! My brothers liked them as well. I did change it up, though, as I had a larger amount of meat to cook. 3 lbs ground beef 2 1/2 cups Italian Bread Crumbs 1 1/2 cups milk 3 eggs 1 Tbs. Garlic powder 1 Tbs. Onion powder 1 Tbs. Italian Seasoning I, like most everyone else, baked them for 30 mins. in the oven and then added them to my sauce. Let that simmer another 30 mins. and presto! It was done and it was GREAT!! Thanks for the great recipe. I will definitely be using this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States